WOLFBOX Portable Level 1&2 EV Charger 40amp delivers strongest versatility for mobile EV owners needing adaptable power. Hardware supplies 40A Level 2 charging via NEMA 14-50 outlets plus Level 1 operation using included NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 adapters at $299.99. Drivers wanting maximum speed at budget pricing gain 37 miles range per hour without buying separate wall units.

1
Quick Verdict The WOLFBOX PE40 is a portable J1772 EV charger that supports Level 1 and Level 2 charging, with adjustable current from 6A to 40A. It can be used with a NEMA 14-50 outlet for 40A charging and includes NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 adapters for other outlet types.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Combines portable charging with wall-mounted installation
  • Supports flexible current adjustment and scheduled charging
  • Includes a long 25-foot cable and multiple outlet adapters
  • Backed by a stated 3-year warranty and 24/7 customer support

Cons

  • 40A charging requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet
  • Exact vehicle compatibility details beyond the J1772 connector are not provided
  • The published product data lists an Amazon rating of 4.7 from 0 reviews
Product Details

The WOLFBOX PE40 is a portable Level 1 and Level 2 EV charger with a J1772 connector. It can be used as a wall-mounted home charging station or moved for portable use. The charger supports up to 40A through a NEMA 14-50 outlet and includes NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 adapters for use with other 110V-240V outlets.

  • Current adjustment: 6A to 40A
  • Cable length: 25 feet
  • Charging timer: 1 to 12 hours
  • Protection and certifications: ETL, NEMA 4, and IP66 waterproof rating
  • Controls: Physical buttons and LED charging-status indicators
  • Warranty: 3 years
  • Support: 24/7 customer support and lifetime firmware upgrades
  • Connector: J1772

The published product data lists the color and size as 40A/J1772 and 40Amp. The listed Amazon rating is 4.7 from 0 reviews.

Specifications
Color40A/J1772
Size40Amp
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Supports both wall-mounted and portable use
  • Provides up to 40A charging through a NEMA 14-50 outlet
  • Includes NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 adapters for Level 1 and Level 2 charging
  • Offers adjustable current settings from 6A to 40A
  • Includes a 25-foot charging cable
  • Features a 1- to 12-hour delayed charging timer
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Combines portable charging with wall-mounted installation
  • Supports flexible current adjustment and scheduled charging
  • Includes a long 25-foot cable and multiple outlet adapters

Consider another option if

  • 40A charging requires a NEMA 14-50 outlet
  • Exact vehicle compatibility details beyond the J1772 connector are not provided
  • The published product data lists an Amazon rating of 4.7 from 0 reviews
2
Quick Verdict Lectron portable Level 2 EV charger deliver up to 9.6 kW at 240V and 40A via NEMA 14-50 plug. Unit feature WiFi app control for real-time monitoring and charge scheduling.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • WiFi connectivity allow session scheduling and energy tracking via app
  • Hold UL 2251, Energy Star, ETL, and FCC safety certifications
  • Provide up to 40A and 9.6 kW charging rate on 240V circuits
  • Include dedicated carrying case for travel storage

Cons

  • 16 ft cable length shorter than standard 20-25 ft EV cords
  • Mobile OS requirements for Lectron App not specified in manufacturer data
  • Require dedicated 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet for operation
Product Details

Lectron Level 2 EV Charger (WiFi Version) supply portable charging for electric vehicles using SAE J1772 standard.

  • Power Specifications: 240V input, 40A current, up to 9.6 kW output rate. Plug type: NEMA 14-50.
  • Cable Length: 16 ft extension cord.
  • Smart Features: Built-in WiFi connect to Lectron App. Support remote monitoring, session scheduling, and energy limit (kWh) controls.
  • Vehicle Compatibility: Work with J1772 EVs including BMW, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Porsche, Nissan, and Chevy.
  • Safety Certifications: UL 2251 handle certification, Energy Star, ETL, and FCC device certifications.
  • Included Accessories: Carrying case.
Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Deliver up to 240V, 40A, and 9.6 kW power output via NEMA 14-50 plug
  • WiFi support enable real-time status monitoring, scheduling, and energy limit controls in Lectron App
  • Universal J1772 connector support EVs from brands including BMW, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Porsche, Nissan, Chevy
  • UL 2251 certified charger handle; Energy Star, ETL, and FCC certified charging unit
  • Include 16 ft extension cord for vehicle connection
  • Include durable carrying case for portable transport and storage
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • WiFi connectivity allow session scheduling and energy tracking via app
  • Hold UL 2251, Energy Star, ETL, and FCC safety certifications
  • Provide up to 40A and 9.6 kW charging rate on 240V circuits

Consider another option if

  • 16 ft cable length shorter than standard 20-25 ft EV cords
  • Mobile OS requirements for Lectron App not specified in manufacturer data
  • Require dedicated 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet for operation
3
Quick Verdict The IYILO Level 2 EV Charger delivers up to 48A and 11.5kW through a hardwired 240V installation, with adjustable current from 6A to 48A. It includes app-based charging controls, connector temperature monitoring, power sharing, a 25-foot cable, and a standard J1772 connector.
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Offers high-power Level 2 charging at up to 48A and 11.5kW
  • Provides adjustable charging current and app-based scheduling and energy controls
  • Includes connector overheat protection with automatic charging shutdown
  • Compatible with J1772 EVs and PHEVs in North America; Tesla models require a separate NACS adapter

Cons

  • Hardwired installation requires a 60A breaker and a licensed electrician
  • The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
  • A NACS adapter for Tesla models is not included
Product Details

The IYILO Level 2 EV Charger is a hardwired 240V charging station rated for up to 48A and 11.5kW. Current can be adjusted from 6A to 48A in 1A increments. Installation requires a 60A breaker and a licensed electrician.

The charger uses a standard SAE J1772 connector and includes a 25-foot cable for compatibility with J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles in North America. Tesla models require a NACS adapter, which is not included. The unit has a built-in GFCI breaker and NEMA 4 waterproof rating.

App features include scheduled charging, time-of-use rate settings, energy and cost tracking, multiple user accounts, RFID charging, and over-the-air updates. The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only. Connector temperature is monitored with a built-in NTC sensor, and charging can stop automatically if the connector temperature exceeds 221°F.

The charger supports power sharing for two chargers on one circuit breaker. Dynamic load balancing is available when paired with the optional energy meter and configured through the app. Supplied certification information includes a UL 2594 test report, ETL, Energy Star, and CSA references. The product includes a 3-year warranty and customer support availability listed as Monday through Friday, 8 AM–12 PM and 4 PM–8 PM PST.

Specifications
ColorBlack
SizeHardwired-Compact Design
Dimensions9.8 x 8.7 x 4.4 inches
Weight13.45 Pounds
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Supports up to 48A and 11.5kW charging through a hardwired 240V installation
  • Adjustable current from 6A to 48A in 1A increments
  • Built-in NTC sensor monitors connector temperature and can stop charging above 221°F
  • App supports scheduled charging, time-of-use rates, energy and cost tracking, multiple user accounts, and RFID charging
  • Power sharing allows two chargers to run on one circuit breaker, while dynamic load balancing is available with the optional energy meter
  • Includes a 25-foot charging cable, standard SAE J1772 connector, built-in GFCI breaker, and NEMA 4 waterproof rating
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Offers high-power Level 2 charging at up to 48A and 11.5kW
  • Provides adjustable charging current and app-based scheduling and energy controls
  • Includes connector overheat protection with automatic charging shutdown

Consider another option if

  • Hardwired installation requires a 60A breaker and a licensed electrician
  • The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
  • A NACS adapter for Tesla models is not included

CarTechTalk earns affiliate commissions from qualifying purchases through merchant links.

Portable EV Charger Evaluation Criteria Under $400

Selecting mobile EV charging hardware under $400 requires balancing power output against physical adaptability. Electrical infrastructure determines charging speed. Standard Level 1 cords operating at 120V and 12A provide three to five miles range per hour. Level 2 hardware operating at 240V delivers 14 to 46 miles range per hour depending on circuit rating.

Continuous electrical loads mandate safety margins under National Electrical Code standards. EVSE units draw continuous power for hours. Circuit breakers must support 125 percent of continuous draw. 40A charger requires dedicated 50A breaker. 48A unit demands dedicated 60A breaker. Connecting 40A charger to 40A circuit trips breakers and creates fire hazards.

Cable length dictates daily convenience. Standard parking spaces measure 16 to 18 feet long. Cords measuring 16 feet force backing into spaces or parking near wall receptacles. Cords extending 25 feet span vehicle lengths easily, reaching side or rear charge ports without vehicle repositioning.

Weather resistance protects hardware outdoors. NEMA 4 enclosures resist windblown dust, rain, and hose-directed water. IP66 ingress protection prevents dust entry and resists strong water jets. Aluminum housings provide impact protection against accidental drops on concrete driveways.

Top EV Chargers Under $400: Detailed Analysis

WOLFBOX Portable Level 1&2 EV Charger 40amp: Best Dual-Voltage Versatility

WOLFBOX Portable Level 1&2 EV Charger 40amp addresses mobile charging across mixed electrical environments. Package includes NEMA 14-50 primary plug along with NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 adapter cords. Manufacturer lists support for 110V through 240V circuits, allowing connection at standard household outlets, RV campsites, or dedicated 240V receptacles.

Power output spans 6A to 40A through manual physical button adjustments. Users match draw to available circuit capacity. Unit delivers 9.6 kW maximum output, which manufacturer states adds 37 miles range per hour. Delay function schedules charging from 1 to 12 hours ahead for off-peak utility pricing. Cable measures 25 feet. Housing features aluminum alloy construction with IP66 water resistance, ETL listing, and NEMA 4 certification. Drop rating covers 10,000 insertions. Coverage includes three-year warranty and firmware support.

Concrete drawback: unit lacks smartphone app connectivity. Scheduling and current adjustments require physical button interaction on control enclosure.

Avoid if: driver requires smartphone wireless control or remote energy tracking via mobile app.

Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version): Best Budget Smart Monitoring

Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version) provides connected energy management at $289.99 entry price. Unit terminates in fixed NEMA 14-50 plug delivering up to 240V, 40A output (9.6 kW). Enclosure includes integrated WiFi connecting to Lectron App. Mobile interface lets users schedule charging windows, monitor session status real-time, and set kWh delivery targets remotely.

Safety certifications include ETL listing, FCC compliance, Energy Star certification, and UL 2251 certified handle assembly. Package contains dedicated storage travel case. J1772 connector links directly to non-Tesla electric vehicles and connects to Tesla models using standard J1772-to-NACS adapters.

Concrete drawback: cable measures 16 feet long. Short span limits reach across tandem garages or deep driveways.

Avoid if: vehicle charge port sits opposite wall receptacle, requiring cord length exceeding 16 feet, or driver travels where 120V household adapters are necessary.

IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V: Best High-Power Home Station

IYILO Level 2 EV Charger operates at highest output ceiling under $400, delivering up to 48A (11.5 kW) at $399.99. Manufacturer states power level provides 46 miles range per hour. Current adjusts from 6A to 48A in 1A increments via app. Installation requires permanent hardwiring by licensed electrician onto dedicated 60A circuit breaker.

Smart capabilities connect over 2.4GHz WiFi. IYILO App tracks Time-of-Use utility rates, logs historical energy consumption, manages RFID card access, and supports firmware updates over air. System supports power sharing across two units on single breaker and dynamic load balancing when paired with energy meter. Safety ratings cite ETL listing, Energy Star certification, CSA compliance, NEMA 4 enclosure, built-in GFCI, and UL 2594 test report documentation. Handle houses NTC temperature sensor shutting down charging automatically if connector temperature exceeds 221 degrees Fahrenheit. Cable measures 25 feet. Manufacturer includes three-year warranty.

Concrete drawback: hardwired power connection eliminates road portability. Unit cannot plug into campsite or travel receptacles.

Avoid if: driver requires plug-and-play mobile charger kept inside trunk for road trip charging.

Portable EV Charger Specifications Compared

FeatureWOLFBOX Portable 40ALectron Level 2 (WiFi)IYILO Level 2 48A
Observed Price$299.99$289.99$399.99
Maximum Current40A40A48A
Input Voltage110V to 240V240V240V
Cable Length25 feet16 feet25 feet
Power ConnectionNEMA 14-50 with 5-15 & 6-20 adaptersNEMA 14-50 plugHardwired
Vehicle ConnectorSAE J1772SAE J1772SAE J1772
Safety ListingsETL, NEMA 4ETL, FCC, Energy Star, UL 2251 handleETL, CSA, Energy Star, UL 2594 test report
Warranty3 yearsNot provided3 years

Electrical Safety, Breaker Sizing, Circuit Requirements

Operating high-amperage equipment requires strict adherence to residential electrical limits. Continuous electrical loads create heat across wiring, receptacles, and breaker panels. National Electrical Code enforces 80 percent continuous load rule. Circuits must never exceed 80 percent rated capacity when running past three hours.

Applying rule to charging setups establishes firm guidelines:

  • 15A 120V household circuit: 12A continuous limit (Level 1 trickle charging).
  • 20A 240V circuit (NEMA 6-20): 16A continuous limit (3.8 kW Level 2).
  • 50A 240V circuit (NEMA 14-50): 40A continuous limit (9.6 kW Level 2).
  • 60A 240V dedicated circuit: 48A continuous limit (11.5 kW Level 2 hardwired).

Connecting 40A charger like WOLFBOX or Lectron demands verified 50A branch circuit. Older NEMA 14-50 receptacles installed for clothes dryers sometimes connect to 30A or 40A breakers. WOLFBOX allows dialing down current to 24A or 32A to protect undersized wiring. Lectron pulls full 40A on 240V lines, requiring dedicated 50A circuit infrastructure without exception.

Heat management prevents melted receptacles. Portable high-power charging through worn wall outlets introduces high electrical resistance. Hardware like IYILO protects vehicle connection via thermal sensors inside J1772 handle. Homeowners using NEMA 14-50 plugs should inspect receptacle contacts for snug fit. Loose receptacle prongs generate severe heat during sustained 40A charging sessions.

Who Should Skip These Budget Portable EV Chargers

Certain EV owners gain little utility from hardware listed here. Drivers owning Tesla vehicles who dislike adapters should buy native NACS equipment instead. All three models utilize standard SAE J1772 plugs. Tesla operation requires separate J1772-to-NACS adapter.

Apartment tenants or street parkers without access to 240V electrical outlets should avoid 40A or 48A units. Purchasing high-output EVSE without 240V supply leaves hardware underutilized. Drivers seeking rapid en-route power during cross-country travel should rely on commercial DC fast charging infrastructure. 240V Level 2 equipment requires multiple hours to recharge depleted battery packs.

For related guidance on this topic, see Portable EV Charger Buying Guide and Best Portable EV Charger Under $200.

Final Buying Guidance: Choosing Right Charger Under $400

Budget under $400 accommodates capable Level 2 charging equipment. Match selection directly to installation plans and mobility needs.

Choose WOLFBOX Portable Level 1&2 EV Charger 40amp when mobility ranks first. Included 120V and 240V adapter plugs, 25-foot cord, and weatherproof build solve travel, camping, and home garage charging seamlessly.

Choose Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version) when smart energy monitoring matters most in compact space. Integrated WiFi tracking and energy scheduling deliver convenience where 16-foot cable reaches vehicle port easily.

Choose IYILO Level 2 EV Charger when seeking maximum stationary charging speed at home. 48A hardwired capacity, dynamic load management, and utility program compatibility maximize home garage value.