For homeowners seeking the best level 2 ev charger under $400, the Upgraded 48 Amp Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired provides the highest continuous power output at 11.5 kW and up to 46 miles of range per hour. It pairs this throughput with ETL and CSA safety certifications plus 10A to 48A current adjustability on a dedicated 60A breaker. Drivers wanting portable NEMA 14-50 flexibility rather than dedicated hardwiring will find a better match in the Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version), which delivers 40A charging inside an entry price bracket.
Pros
- WiFi connectivity allow session scheduling and energy tracking via app
- Hold UL 2251, Energy Star, ETL, and FCC safety certifications
- Provide up to 40A and 9.6 kW charging rate on 240V circuits
- Include dedicated carrying case for travel storage
Cons
- 16 ft cable length shorter than standard 20-25 ft EV cords
- Mobile OS requirements for Lectron App not specified in manufacturer data
- Require dedicated 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet for operation
Lectron Level 2 EV Charger (WiFi Version) supply portable charging for electric vehicles using SAE J1772 standard.
- Power Specifications: 240V input, 40A current, up to 9.6 kW output rate. Plug type: NEMA 14-50.
- Cable Length: 16 ft extension cord.
- Smart Features: Built-in WiFi connect to Lectron App. Support remote monitoring, session scheduling, and energy limit (kWh) controls.
- Vehicle Compatibility: Work with J1772 EVs including BMW, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Porsche, Nissan, and Chevy.
- Safety Certifications: UL 2251 handle certification, Energy Star, ETL, and FCC device certifications.
- Included Accessories: Carrying case.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Deliver up to 240V, 40A, and 9.6 kW power output via NEMA 14-50 plug
- WiFi support enable real-time status monitoring, scheduling, and energy limit controls in Lectron App
- Universal J1772 connector support EVs from brands including BMW, Ford, Honda, Hyundai, Kia, Porsche, Nissan, Chevy
- UL 2251 certified charger handle; Energy Star, ETL, and FCC certified charging unit
- Include 16 ft extension cord for vehicle connection
- Include durable carrying case for portable transport and storage
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- WiFi connectivity allow session scheduling and energy tracking via app
- Hold UL 2251, Energy Star, ETL, and FCC safety certifications
- Provide up to 40A and 9.6 kW charging rate on 240V circuits
Consider another option if
- 16 ft cable length shorter than standard 20-25 ft EV cords
- Mobile OS requirements for Lectron App not specified in manufacturer data
- Require dedicated 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet for operation
Pros
- High 11.5kW power output add up to 46 miles range per hour
- Fine-grained current adjustment from 10A to 48A in 1A steps
- ETL-listed and certified to UL 2594 safety standards
- Long 25-foot cable suit diverse parking setups
Cons
- Requires professional hardwired installation on dedicated 60A breaker
- Tesla vehicles require separate J1772 adapter not included in box
- Mobile app operating system compatibility requirements not specified
Grasside 48A Level 2 EV Charger supply up to 11.5kW power for SAE J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids. Tesla vehicles require separate J1772-to-NACS adapter.
Electrical and Installation Requirements:
- Input: 240V AC
- Max Current: 48A
- Circuit Requirement: Dedicated 60A breaker
- Wiring Method: Hardwired only, licensed electrician required
Hardware and Safety Features:
- Cable Length: 25 feet
- Enclosure Rating: IP65 water and dust resistance
- Certifications: UL 2594, CSA C22.2 No.280, ETL, FCC
- Fault Protections: Overcurrent, overvoltage, overheating, overcharge
- Warranty: 3-year manufacturer warranty with 24/7 support
Smart Control:
- Adjustable output: 10A to 48A in 1A increments
- App features: Scheduling across midnight, real-time voltage/power display, history tracking, multi-user management
Specifications
| Color | Black |
|---|---|
| Size | 48 |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Delivers up to 48A and 11.5kW output on 240V dedicated 60A circuit
- SAE J1772 connector fit North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids
- Current adjustable from 10A to 48A in 1A increments via mobile app
- Certified to UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 No.280 safety standards with ETL and FCC compliance
- IP65-rated weatherproof housing built for indoor and outdoor mounting
- Integrated 25-foot charging cable reach parked vehicles easily
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- High 11.5kW power output add up to 46 miles range per hour
- Fine-grained current adjustment from 10A to 48A in 1A steps
- ETL-listed and certified to UL 2594 safety standards
Consider another option if
- Requires professional hardwired installation on dedicated 60A breaker
- Tesla vehicles require separate J1772 adapter not included in box
- Mobile app operating system compatibility requirements not specified
Pros
- Adjustable 6A–40A output provides flexibility for different electrical setups
- Built-in connector temperature monitoring and automatic charging shutdown are included
- App supports scheduled charging, energy tracking, cost tracking, and remote OTA upgrades
- NEMA 4-rated housing, built-in GFCI breaker, ETL certification, and Energy Star certification are listed
Cons
- The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
- Hardwired 40A operation requires a 50A breaker and a licensed electrician
- Tesla models require a separate NACS adapter, which is not included
The IYILO Level 2 EV Charger is a gray 240V charging station with a NEMA 14-50P configuration, adjustable 6A–40A current, and up to 9.6kW output at 40A. The product uses a standard SAE J1772 connector and includes a 25-foot charging cable for compatible EVs and PHEVs in North America. Tesla models require a separate NACS adapter.
Wi-Fi app features include scheduled charging, time-of-use rate settings, energy and cost tracking, multiple user accounts, RFID card charging, and OTA remote upgrades. The charger supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only and does not support 5GHz Wi-Fi.
Safety and installation features include a built-in NTC connector temperature sensor, automatic charging shutdown above 221°F, a built-in GFCI breaker, an ultra-flex cable, and NEMA 4 waterproof rating. The product listing states that hardwired 40A operation requires a 50A breaker and a licensed electrician.
The charger supports power sharing for two chargers on one circuit and dynamic load balancing when paired with the available energy meter. Listed certifications and reports include ETL, Energy Star, CSA, and a UL 2594 test report. Dimensions are 9.8 x 8.7 x 4.4 inches, and listed weight is 13.45 pounds. A 3-year warranty is included.
Specifications
| Color | Gray |
|---|---|
| Size | NEMA 14-50P, Compact Design |
| Dimensions | 9.8 x 8.7 x 4.4 inches |
| Weight | 13.45 pounds |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Adjustable charging current from 6A to 40A in 1A increments
- Provides up to 9.6kW at 40A and claims up to 38 miles of range per hour through hardwired installation
- 2.4GHz Wi-Fi app supports scheduled charging, time-of-use rates, energy and cost tracking, and multiple user accounts
- Built-in NTC sensor monitors connector temperature and stops charging above 221°F
- Includes a 25-foot SAE J1772 charging cable for North American J1772 EVs and PHEVs
- Supports power sharing for two chargers on one circuit and dynamic load balancing when paired with the available energy meter
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Adjustable 6A–40A output provides flexibility for different electrical setups
- Built-in connector temperature monitoring and automatic charging shutdown are included
- App supports scheduled charging, energy tracking, cost tracking, and remote OTA upgrades
Consider another option if
- The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
- Hardwired 40A operation requires a 50A breaker and a licensed electrician
- Tesla models require a separate NACS adapter, which is not included
Pros
- Offers high-power Level 2 charging at up to 48A and 11.5kW
- Provides adjustable charging current and app-based scheduling and energy controls
- Includes connector overheat protection with automatic charging shutdown
- Compatible with J1772 EVs and PHEVs in North America; Tesla models require a separate NACS adapter
Cons
- Hardwired installation requires a 60A breaker and a licensed electrician
- The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
- A NACS adapter for Tesla models is not included
The IYILO Level 2 EV Charger is a hardwired 240V charging station rated for up to 48A and 11.5kW. Current can be adjusted from 6A to 48A in 1A increments. Installation requires a 60A breaker and a licensed electrician.
The charger uses a standard SAE J1772 connector and includes a 25-foot cable for compatibility with J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles in North America. Tesla models require a NACS adapter, which is not included. The unit has a built-in GFCI breaker and NEMA 4 waterproof rating.
App features include scheduled charging, time-of-use rate settings, energy and cost tracking, multiple user accounts, RFID charging, and over-the-air updates. The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only. Connector temperature is monitored with a built-in NTC sensor, and charging can stop automatically if the connector temperature exceeds 221°F.
The charger supports power sharing for two chargers on one circuit breaker. Dynamic load balancing is available when paired with the optional energy meter and configured through the app. Supplied certification information includes a UL 2594 test report, ETL, Energy Star, and CSA references. The product includes a 3-year warranty and customer support availability listed as Monday through Friday, 8 AM–12 PM and 4 PM–8 PM PST.
Specifications
| Color | Black |
|---|---|
| Size | Hardwired-Compact Design |
| Dimensions | 9.8 x 8.7 x 4.4 inches |
| Weight | 13.45 Pounds |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Supports up to 48A and 11.5kW charging through a hardwired 240V installation
- Adjustable current from 6A to 48A in 1A increments
- Built-in NTC sensor monitors connector temperature and can stop charging above 221°F
- App supports scheduled charging, time-of-use rates, energy and cost tracking, multiple user accounts, and RFID charging
- Power sharing allows two chargers to run on one circuit breaker, while dynamic load balancing is available with the optional energy meter
- Includes a 25-foot charging cable, standard SAE J1772 connector, built-in GFCI breaker, and NEMA 4 waterproof rating
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Offers high-power Level 2 charging at up to 48A and 11.5kW
- Provides adjustable charging current and app-based scheduling and energy controls
- Includes connector overheat protection with automatic charging shutdown
Consider another option if
- Hardwired installation requires a 60A breaker and a licensed electrician
- The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
- A NACS adapter for Tesla models is not included
CarTechTalk evaluates automotive equipment based on manufacturer specifications, published electrical standards, and installation demands. We may earn an affiliate commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, which helps support our reporting without influencing our technical analysis. Listed prices reflect current observations and remain subject to change by retailers.
Electrical Requirements for Sub-$400 Home Charging
Selecting an electric vehicle charging station in the sub-$400 category requires matching home electrical capacity to device demand. Charging speeds depend on alternating current (AC) voltage, circuit breaker amperage, and continuous load limitations defined by the National Electrical Code (NEC).
The continuous load rule mandates that an EV charger must draw no more than 80 percent of a circuit breaker’s rated capacity. A 40A charging station requires a dedicated 50A breaker. Operating a 48A charging unit at full capacity demands a dedicated 60A breaker and direct hardwiring. NEMA 14-50 receptacles are limited by standard to a maximum continuous draw of 40A on a 50A circuit. Installing a 48A charger on a plug-in receptacle violates standard electrical codes and creates dangerous overheating risks.
EV owners must evaluate their main service panel before purchasing. Older panels with 100A service often lack capacity for a continuous 48A load without dynamic power management or an expensive service upgrade. In those scenarios, choosing a unit with adjustable current output or load-balancing hardware prevents breaker trips and expensive panel replacements.
Direct Comparison: Sub-$400 Level 2 Charging Stations
| Model | Price | Max Current | Power Output | Cable Length | Connectivity |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version) | $289.99 | 40A | 9.6 kW | 16 ft | Wi-Fi |
| Upgraded 48 Amp Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired | $309.97 | 48A | 11.5 kW | 25 ft | Wi-Fi (App) |
| IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 40Amp/9.6KW/240V | $389.99 | 40A | 9.6 kW | 25 ft | Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) |
| IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V | $399.99 | 48A | 11.5 kW | 25 ft | Wi-Fi (2.4 GHz) |
Detailed Reviews: The Four Best Level 2 EV Chargers Under $400
Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version): Portable 40A Plug-in Option
Best for: EV owners with an existing NEMA 14-50 outlet who need portable charging capability for travel.
Avoid if: Your vehicle parking spot sits more than 15 feet from your 240V wall receptacle.
The Lectron Level 2 J1772 Charger (WiFi Version) provides 40A charging output, delivering 9.6 kW of power across a standard 240V circuit. The unit connects via an integrated NEMA 14-50 plug, eliminating hardwired installation requirements if a proper 50A outlet is already installed. The manufacturer lists UL 2251 certification on the connector handle alongside Energy Star, ETL, and FCC certifications for the primary unit. The integrated Lectron App enables scheduling, session monitoring, and real-time energy tracking over Wi-Fi. Lectron supplies a dedicated carrying case to support travel use.
Drawback: The included charging cable measures 16 feet, which is significantly shorter than the 25-foot industry standard. Vehicles parked nose-out or across tandem garage spaces may not reach the receptacle without repositioning.
Upgraded 48 Amp Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired: Budget High-Power Hardwire Station
Best for: Drivers wanting maximum 48A home charging speeds at the lowest initial purchase price.
Avoid if: You rent your home or lack the electrical panel capacity to dedicate a 60A circuit breaker.
The Upgraded 48 Amp Level 2 EV Charger, Hardwired from Grasside delivers 11.5 kW of charging power, adding up to 46 miles of range per hour according to manufacturer specifications. It requires professional hardwired installation onto a dedicated 240V / 60A circuit. The unit features UL 2594 and CSA C22.2 No. 280 safety standard compliance alongside an IP65 weatherproof enclosure for outdoor installations. The companion app permits amperage adjustments from 10A to 48A in 1A increments, which allows users to scale down draw if home electrical limits demand it. The 25-foot cable easily reaches across multi-car garages.
Drawback: Because it requires permanent hardwiring, this station cannot be unplugged for road trips or moved between locations without an electrician disconnecting the main feed.
IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 40Amp/9.6KW/240V: Smart Management for Tight Panels
Best for: Homes with limited panel headroom needing power-sharing support or utility rebate eligibility.
Avoid if: You rely on a 5 GHz home Wi-Fi network and cannot broadcast a dedicated 2.4 GHz band.
The IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 40Amp/9.6KW/240V outputs up to 38 miles of range per hour via a 9.6 kW hardwired connection. The manufacturer documents an internal mainboard supporting smart power management, including power sharing across two chargers on a single breaker and dynamic load balancing when connected to an optional Energy Meter. The J1772 handle contains an NTC temperature sensor configured to halt charging automatically if handle temperatures exceed 221°F. The station carries ETL, Energy Star, and CSA certifications, and the manufacturer lists active enrollment across multiple regional utility programs including ComEd and PSEG.
Drawback: The hardware supports 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi frequencies only, meaning modern mesh routers running single 5 GHz SSIDs will fail to pair without manual router reconfiguration.
IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V: Maximum Power with Advanced Safety Monitoring
Best for: Commuters requiring rapid overnight turnarounds who want hardware thermal shutoffs and dual-charger expandability.
Avoid if: You need an immediate plug-and-play installation without scheduling a licensed electrician.
The IYILO Level 2 EV Charger, 48Amp/11.5KW/240V represents the high-output sibling of the 40A unit, maximizing the J1772 AC charging limit at 11.5 kW on a dedicated 60A breaker. It delivers up to 46 miles of range per hour per manufacturer specifications. Like the 40A variant, it features real-time connector thermal monitoring via an NTC sensor, automatic shutoff above 221°F, and an IP rating matching NEMA 4 enclosure requirements for harsh outdoor environments. The system supports RFID card initiation, Time-of-Use rate scheduling, and app-based output tuning from 6A to 48A in 1A increments.
Drawback: Operating at the maximum $399.99 boundary of the sub-$400 price limit, this unit leaves no equipment budget buffer and requires mandatory hardwiring expenses that add to overall deployment costs.
Who Should Skip Sub-$400 EV Chargers?
Drivers owning native NACS vehicles like modern Teslas who do not want to use a J1772-to-NACS adapter should skip these models and look directly at dedicated NACS wall connectors. Furthermore, renters who lack landlord authorization to install a 240V circuit or hardwired unit should avoid these chargers entirely. Instead, those buyers should look for Level 1 dual-voltage mobile cords that operate safely on common 120V household outlets.
Key Technical Differences: 40 Amp vs 48 Amp Stations
Choosing between 40A and 48A home chargers under $400 involves installation physics rather than mere charging speed. A 40A unit provides 9.6 kW, recovering approximately 30 to 38 miles of range per hour. This speed fully charges standard 60 kWh to 80 kWh battery packs within 7 to 9 hours. A 48A unit pushes 11.5 kW, recovering roughly 40 to 46 miles of range per hour and completing the same replenishment in 5 to 7 hours.
The tradeoff centers on panel supply and wire gauge. A 48A unit requires a 60A breaker wired with thick 6 AWG copper conductor wire to comply with continuous load regulations. A 40A station requires a 50A breaker. If your home has a 100A main service panel, allocating 60A to an EV charger often triggers electrical overload during periods when air conditioners, dryers, or electric ovens run simultaneously. In such cases, a 40A model or a 48A unit throttled down through software settings provides safe operation without requiring a panel upgrade.
Utility Rebates and Safety Certifications
Electrical equipment operating under high sustained loads must feature legitimate third-party testing certifications. Look for ETL or UL markings indicating compliance with UL 2594 (the North American safety standard for electric vehicle supply equipment) and UL 2251 (governing plugs and couplers). Units lacking certified NRTL (Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory) documentation present property insurance liabilities if a fault occurs.
Energy Star certification also serves a financial role. Electric utility companies frequently condition rebate eligibility on Energy Star listings and Wi-Fi scheduling features that shift demand outside peak hours. Both IYILO chargers in this guide maintain Energy Star ratings and utility program participation across providers such as ComEd, PSEG, and Portland General Electric. Verifying local utility lists before buying can effectively offset installation costs.
For related guidance on this topic, see Best Level 2 EV Charger Under $500 for Home Garage Power and Best Level 2 EV Charger Under $700.
