The best NACS level 2 home charger for most drivers is the EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger NACS 48A: it connects directly to NACS vehicles, offers app scheduling, and supports hardwired installation at up to 48 amps. Choose it if your home can support a dedicated 60-amp circuit and you want a long cable; choose a 40-amp plug-in model if your garage already has a suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet.
Pros
- Offers high-power Level 2 charging at up to 48A and 11.5kW
- Provides adjustable charging current and app-based scheduling and energy controls
- Includes connector overheat protection with automatic charging shutdown
- Compatible with J1772 EVs and PHEVs in North America; Tesla models require a separate NACS adapter
Cons
- Hardwired installation requires a 60A breaker and a licensed electrician
- The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
- A NACS adapter for Tesla models is not included
Specifications
| Color | Black |
|---|---|
| Size | Hardwired-Compact Design |
| Dimensions | 9.8 x 8.7 x 4.4 inches |
| Weight | 13.45 Pounds |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Offers high-power Level 2 charging at up to 48A and 11.5kW
- Provides adjustable charging current and app-based scheduling and energy controls
- Includes connector overheat protection with automatic charging shutdown
Consider another option if
- Hardwired installation requires a 60A breaker and a licensed electrician
- The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
- A NACS adapter for Tesla models is not included
Pros
- NACS connector connects directly to compatible Tesla and other NACS-equipped EVs without an adapter
- Long 25-foot charging cable provides added reach
- App-based scheduling and energy tracking can support off-peak charging
- Side reset button and automatic over-the-air Wi-Fi updates are included
Cons
- Hardwired installation requires a licensed electrician and a dedicated electrical circuit
- A NACS-to-J1772 adapter is required for non-Tesla J1772 vehicles and is not included
- App functionality requires a 2.4 GHz home Wi-Fi network
Specifications
| Color | Gray |
|---|---|
| Size | 48 |
| Dimensions | 4 x 9.45 x 9.45 inches |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Automotive |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- NACS connector connects directly to compatible Tesla and other NACS-equipped EVs without an adapter
- Long 25-foot charging cable provides added reach
- App-based scheduling and energy tracking can support off-peak charging
Consider another option if
- Hardwired installation requires a licensed electrician and a dedicated electrical circuit
- A NACS-to-J1772 adapter is required for non-Tesla J1772 vehicles and is not included
- App functionality requires a 2.4 GHz home Wi-Fi network
Pros
- 40A Level 2 charging at 240V
- 23-foot cable supports longer driveway and garage reach
- IP66 rating supports indoor and outdoor installation
- ETL listed with UL 2594, UL 2231, UL 2251, and UL 817 certifications
- NEMA 14-50 plug supports plug-in installation
Cons
- Requires a 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet
- 40A charging output depends on available 240V power
- NACS connector limits use to compatible Tesla and NACS vehicles
Specifications
| Size | 40A NEMA14-50 |
|---|---|
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- 40A Level 2 charging at 240V
- 23-foot cable supports longer driveway and garage reach
- IP66 rating supports indoor and outdoor installation
Consider another option if
- Requires a 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet
- 40A charging output depends on available 240V power
- NACS connector limits use to compatible Tesla and NACS vehicles
Pros
- High-output 48A Level 2 charging
- 23ft cable supports flexible vehicle placement
- IP66 weather protection for indoor or outdoor installation
- Supports Tesla Model S, Model 3, Model X, Model Y, Cybertruck, and other listed NACS vehicles
- Includes multiple listed safety certifications
Cons
- Hardwired installation only
- Requires professional installation
- Requires a 240V electrical connection
Specifications
| Size | 48A Hardwired |
|---|---|
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- High-output 48A Level 2 charging
- 23ft cable supports flexible vehicle placement
- IP66 weather protection for indoor or outdoor installation
Consider another option if
- Hardwired installation only
- Requires professional installation
- Requires a 240V electrical connection
Pros
- Native NACS connector includes a button for opening the Tesla charging port
- Works with North American EV and PHEV models when used with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
- Side reset button allows faults to be cleared without opening the charger or disconnecting power
- Supports scheduled charging and OTA firmware updates through the app
Cons
- Requires a dedicated 50A, 240V circuit and an EV-rated 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet
- NACS-to-J1772 adapter is not included for J1772 vehicles
- Smart app features require a 2.4 GHz WiFi network with internet access
Specifications
| Color | Black |
|---|---|
| Size | 40 |
| Dimensions | 15.354330693 x 15.354330693 x 10.629921249 Inches |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Electronics |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Native NACS connector includes a button for opening the Tesla charging port
- Works with North American EV and PHEV models when used with a NACS-to-J1772 adapter
- Side reset button allows faults to be cleared without opening the charger or disconnecting power
Consider another option if
- Requires a dedicated 50A, 240V circuit and an EV-rated 4-prong NEMA 14-50 outlet
- NACS-to-J1772 adapter is not included for J1772 vehicles
- Smart app features require a 2.4 GHz WiFi network with internet access
Pros
- NACS connector supports Tesla EV charging
- App provides charging controls, reminders, and charging data
- Indoor and outdoor installation options
- Cold-resistant cable supports outdoor use
Cons
- Hardwired installation requires an electrician
- Charging speed depends on vehicle
- Requires a 20A or 80A circuit
Specifications
| Color | Black |
|---|---|
| Dimensions | 7.06 x 11.19 x 5.2 inches |
| Weight | 0 pounds |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Electronics |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- NACS connector supports Tesla EV charging
- App provides charging controls, reminders, and charging data
- Indoor and outdoor installation options
Consider another option if
- Hardwired installation requires an electrician
- Charging speed depends on vehicle
- Requires a 20A or 80A circuit
Pros
- Compatible with NACS-equipped EVs and PHEVs
- Long 25-foot charging cable
- App-based charging schedules and energy tracking
- Adjustable charging current and power-sharing support
- Listed with UL 2594, ETL, Energy Star, and CSA certifications or testing claims
Cons
- Hardwired installation requires a 60A breaker and licensed electrician
- The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
- A compatible J1772 adapter is required for J1772-equipped vehicles and is not included
Specifications
| Color | NACS-Black |
|---|---|
| Size | Small |
| Dimensions | 9.8 x 8.7 x 4.4 Inches |
| Weight | 13.45 pounds |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Compatible with NACS-equipped EVs and PHEVs
- Long 25-foot charging cable
- App-based charging schedules and energy tracking
Consider another option if
- Hardwired installation requires a 60A breaker and licensed electrician
- The app supports 2.4GHz Wi-Fi only; 5GHz Wi-Fi is not supported
- A compatible J1772 adapter is required for J1772-equipped vehicles and is not included
Pros
- High 12kW charging capacity
- Long 25-foot cable
- NEMA 4X rating supports indoor and outdoor installation
- Remote control, scheduling, and OTA firmware updates through connected features
Cons
- Requires hardwired 240V installation
- Requires a 20A or 80A circuit
- NACS connector targets Tesla EV compatibility
Specifications
| Color | Dary Gray |
|---|---|
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Electronics |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- High 12kW charging capacity
- Long 25-foot cable
- NEMA 4X rating supports indoor and outdoor installation
Consider another option if
- Requires hardwired 240V installation
- Requires a 20A or 80A circuit
- NACS connector targets Tesla EV compatibility
NACS charger picks by home setup
CarTechTalk may earn a commission from purchases made through product links. Recommendations below focus on chargers listed with NACS connectors for home Level 2 charging. One listed IYILO model uses a J1772 connector, so it is not a native NACS pick and does not appear among these recommendations.
- Best fit for a hardwired 48-amp setup: EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger NACS 48A. It combines a native NACS connector, app controls, and a 25-foot cable. Skip it if you need a plug-in unit or your electrical panel cannot support its required circuit.
- Best plug-in option for Tesla and NACS vehicles: Lectron Tesla NACS Level 2 EV Charger, 40A. Its NEMA 14-50 connection avoids hardwiring when a suitable outlet and circuit are already available. Skip it if you need more than 40 amps or do not have the required outlet.
- Best lower-cost hardwired NACS pick: IYILO Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 48Amp/11.5KW. It offers adjustable current, app scheduling, and a stated three-year warranty. Skip it if your vehicle has a J1772 port and you do not have a compatible adapter.
- Best for charging power above 48 amps: Autel Level 2 Home Smart EV Charger NACS. Its listed maximum is 50 amps, with Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and Ethernet connectivity. Skip it if your circuit cannot support the specified installation or if you want a plug-in charger.
- Best hardwired pick with a 23-foot cable: Lectron Tesla NACS Level 2 EV Charger, 48A. It is listed for hardwired installation and indoor or outdoor use. Skip it if a plug-in unit or longer cable is needed.
- Best plug-in alternative with app scheduling: EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger NACS 40A NEMA 14-50. It pairs a native NACS connector with app controls and a 25-foot cable. Skip it if you lack a dedicated 50-amp circuit and suitable NEMA 14-50 outlet.
- Best for drivers already using ChargePoint: ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger. Its NACS connector and ChargePoint app suit owners who value app access to home charging and public charging locations. Skip it if the unclear circuit requirement cannot be resolved with the manufacturer before installation.
Compare NACS home chargers by installation
| Charger | Connector | Installation and maximum output | Cable | App or network features |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger NACS 48A | NACS | Hardwired, up to 48A on dedicated 60A circuit | 25 ft | App, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, scheduling |
| Lectron Tesla NACS Level 2 EV Charger, 40A | NACS | NEMA 14-50 plug-in, up to 40A | 23 ft | Not stated |
| IYILO Level 2 EV Charger for Tesla, 48Amp/11.5KW | NACS | Hardwired, up to 48A; 60A breaker required | 25 ft | App, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, scheduling, RFID |
| Autel Level 2 Home Smart EV Charger NACS | NACS | Hardwired, up to 50A | 25 ft | App, Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, Ethernet, optional RFID |
| Lectron Tesla NACS Level 2 EV Charger, 48A | NACS | Hardwired, up to 48A | 23 ft | Not stated |
| EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger NACS 40A NEMA 14-50 | NACS | NEMA 14-50 plug-in, up to 40A on dedicated 50A circuit | 25 ft | App, 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, scheduling |
| ChargePoint HomeFlex Level 2 EV Charger | NACS | Hardwired; circuit requirement needs clarification | Not stated | ChargePoint app and network access |
The table separates native connector fit from installation fit. A NACS plug does not make every charger interchangeable with every home circuit. The vehicle also controls how much AC power it can accept, so a higher-output station does not guarantee faster charging. See why an EV may not reach a charger’s advertised speed for the other limits that can affect charging rate.
Choose hardwired or NEMA 14-50
A hardwired charger makes sense when you want a fixed installation and your panel can support the required circuit. The 48-amp EVIQO specifies a dedicated 60-amp circuit and professional installation. IYILO likewise specifies a 60-amp breaker and licensed electrician. The 48-amp Lectron is hardwired; its listing calls for professional installation. Autel is also listed as hardwired, but its circuit detail needs clarification before you commit.
Hardwired installations are not do-it-yourself plug-ins. Ask a licensed electrician to assess panel capacity, circuit needs, mounting position, and local requirements. A charger’s maximum output only applies when its circuit and vehicle support it. Set current to match the installation instructions, not simply to the highest app setting.
A NEMA 14-50 model can suit a garage that already has an EV-appropriate outlet on a correctly rated circuit. The Lectron and EVIQO 40-amp models both specify this plug type and a dedicated 50-amp circuit. EVIQO explicitly says its outlet must be EV-grade, not a dryer outlet. An outlet that looks similar does not establish that its wiring or circuit is suitable.
Do not treat plug-in installation as permission to use an existing outlet without checking its circuit and condition. If the outlet is absent, poorly placed, or not rated for the charger’s load, electrician work may still be needed. A plug-in unit offers an easier path to removal, but it does not bypass electrical requirements.
Match NACS connector to vehicle and cable reach
These NACS models connect directly to vehicles with NACS charging ports, including compatible Tesla models. Model-year connector changes matter: the Lectron listing names several future or model-year-specific vehicles, so do not assume every vehicle in a model line has NACS. Check the actual charge port and the vehicle manual before purchase.
Drivers with a J1772 vehicle need a compatible NACS-to-J1772 adapter. EVIQO says its adapter is not included, and IYILO likewise says a J1772 adapter is required but not included. Adapter compatibility and charging capability depend on the adapter and vehicle; an adapter intended for AC charging does not automatically support DC fast charging. Read why some EV charging adapters do not support DC charging before assuming one adapter serves every charging situation.
Cable length matters most when the charger must reach a vehicle parked in more than one position. EVIQO and IYILO list 25-foot cables, while Lectron lists 23 feet. Measure from the planned wall mount to each vehicle’s charge port, including the route around obstacles. Do not count on stretching a cable across a walking path or using an extension cord.
For outdoor mounting, weather ratings are useful but do not replace correct installation. EVIQO lists an IP66 and NEMA 4 enclosure; Lectron lists IP66; Autel lists NEMA 4X. Confirm mounting and cable handling instructions for the exact location. Cold-weather cable flexibility can also matter in an exposed driveway; Autel’s listing describes a flexible cable for cold conditions.
Smart controls, load management, and ownership
App features are useful when your electricity plan rewards off-peak charging, but scheduling depends on a stable connection and correct setup. EVIQO and IYILO specify 2.4 GHz Wi-Fi, which can rule them out if your home network cannot provide that band at the charger location. Autel lists Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, and Ethernet, giving more connection choices. ChargePoint links its home charger to its app and charging network.
IYILO lists power sharing for two chargers on one circuit and dynamic load balancing when paired with an energy meter bundle. Those features can matter in a home with two EVs or limited panel capacity, but the meter is described as a separate bundle component. Confirm what is included and what installation the load-management setup requires.
Maintenance starts with keeping the cable and connector in good condition and storing the plug in its holster. The EVIQO models include a high-visibility holster; both Lectron versions include a holder. These details help with night-time docking and cable management, but they do not remove the need to inspect equipment for damage and follow its manual.
Warranty and support can affect long-term ownership. EVIQO and both Lectron chargers list three-year manufacturer warranties; IYILO also lists a three-year warranty. Check the warranty terms for coverage, exclusions, and service steps before purchase. Charger app support and remote firmware updates can be useful, but a connected feature set also makes Wi-Fi access and ongoing software support part of the ownership decision.
Which NACS charger should you buy?
For a native-NACS vehicle and a home ready for a hardwired 60-amp circuit, the EVIQO Level 2 EV Charger NACS 48A is the strongest match for most buyers here: it combines 48-amp output, app scheduling, and a 25-foot cable. If a suitable NEMA 14-50 circuit is already available, the 40-amp Lectron or EVIQO is a more direct plug-in choice. Pick between them based on whether you value the EVIQO app features and longer listed cable or prefer Lectron’s simpler listed feature set.
Choose IYILO if adjustable current, RFID, or the listed power-sharing option matters to your setup. Choose Autel if its 50-amp maximum and multiple connection methods fit your electrical plan. ChargePoint may suit existing users, but resolve its stated circuit requirement first. The products span budget through premium positions, but price alone cannot settle connector fit, circuit suitability, or vehicle charging limits.
Do not buy any charger in this guide if your vehicle has a J1772 port and you do not want to use an adapter, or if your home circuit cannot support an appropriate Level 2 installation. Look instead for a J1772 charger that matches your vehicle, or have an electrician assess the home circuit before choosing a charging station.
Sources and further reading
- Charging Electric Vehicles at Home (Alternative Fuels Data Center): Find general information about home EV charging equipment and installation.
- Procurement and Installation for EV Charging Infrastructure (Alternative Fuels Data Center): Review planning considerations for EV charging infrastructure and installation.
Related reading: Best Portable Level 2 EV Charger and Best Level 2 EV Charger Under $700.
