The best EV charger for a Chevy Volt depends less on the charger’s headline amperage and more on the outlet and circuit available where you park. For most Volt owners, a portable 16A charger with a J1772 connector and both 120V and 240V capability offers the most practical balance. Our leading choice is the 16A ChargeHere Level 1 & Level 2 EV Charger because the manufacturer lists UL certification, adjustable current, a 25-foot cable, delay scheduling, and adapters for NEMA 6-20 and standard NEMA 5-15 outlets.

Every one of the 10 chargers covered here has manufacturer-listed SAE J1772 compatibility that includes Chevrolet vehicles. However, the listed documentation does not specify the maximum AC charging rate for each Volt model year. Check your owner’s manual before paying for a 32A or 40A charger that your car may not be able to use fully.

1
Best Seller

AIMILER 32A Level 2 EV Charger with Wi-Fi, 25ft Cable, NEMA 14-50 Plug and J1772 Connector

AIMILER
9.9 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Supports up to 32A charging on a 40A circuit
  • Offers both plug-and-charge and app-start operating modes
  • Includes a 25-foot cable and NEMA Type 4 protection rating
  • Can adjust charging current from the unit or through the app

Cons

  • Tesla and other NACS vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter
  • A compatible adapter cable is required for 110V to 120V Level 1 operation and is not packaged
  • The Wi-Fi app requires a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi connection; iOS and Android requirements are not provided
Product Details

The AIMILER Level 2 EV charger uses a NEMA 14-50P plug and J1772 connector for charging compatible North American J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids. It supports 16A, 24A, and 32A settings, with the maximum 32A setting specified for a 40A circuit. A 30A circuit supports 24A, while a 20A circuit supports 16A.

The charger includes a 25-foot cable, LED touchscreen, Wi-Fi app, plug-and-charge mode, and app-start mode. The display shows amperage, charging speed, input voltage, and delay time. The app supports charging-period scheduling, cost tracking, charging history, fully charged notifications, and charging-status tracking.

For Level 1 charging at 110V to 120V, a compatible NEMA 5-15P-to-14-50R EV adapter or other EV adapter cable is required and is not included. The listed Level 1 charging range is 1.32kW to 1.8kW. Tesla and other NACS connector vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter.

The charger is listed with NEMA Type 4 protection, described as providing a certain extent of IP66 waterproofing. The source advises against installing it in direct sunlight or exposing it to rainy conditions. It also includes built-in CCID-20 anti-leakage detection and protection.

Specifications
ColorBlack
Size32A
Dimensions4.724409444 x 6.299212592 x 1.968503935 inches
Weight0.0110231131 pounds
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories
BindingElectronics

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Adjustable charging current from 16A to 32A
  • 25-foot charging cable for added reach
  • J1772 connector supports North American J1772 EVs and plug-in hybrids
  • Wi-Fi app supports charging schedules, cost tracking, charging history, and status updates
  • LED screen displays amperage, charging speed, input voltage, and delay time
  • NEMA 14-50 plug supports 240V Level 2 charging
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Supports up to 32A charging on a 40A circuit
  • Offers both plug-and-charge and app-start operating modes
  • Includes a 25-foot cable and NEMA Type 4 protection rating

Consider another option if

  • Tesla and other NACS vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter
  • A compatible adapter cable is required for 110V to 120V Level 1 operation and is not packaged
  • The Wi-Fi app requires a 2.4GHz Wi-Fi connection; iOS and Android requirements are not provided
2
-15%
AIXINE Portable J1772 EV Charger, Level 1/2, 16A, 120V/240V, 25-ft Cable, NEMA 6-20 Plug with 5-15 Adapter
Editor's Pick

AIXINE Portable J1772 EV Charger, Level 1/2, 16A, 120V/240V, 25-ft Cable, NEMA 6-20 Plug with 5-15 Adapter

AIXINE
9.9 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
$139.99 Save $21.00
$118.99
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Supports both Level 1 and Level 2 charging
  • Includes connections for compatible 120V and 240V outlets
  • Provides adjustable current and delayed-charging controls
  • Offers J1772 compatibility for listed BEV and PHEV applications
  • Includes ETL certification, FCC listing, and a stated two-year warranty

Cons

  • Not compatible with Tesla vehicles or NACS connectors
  • The listing provides no detailed specifications array or customer review excerpts
  • Operating-system requirements are not provided
Product Details

The AIXINE portable EV charger is a Level 1/Level 2 charging unit with a J1772 connector for compatible battery-electric and plug-in hybrid vehicles. It supports 120V and 240V operation, uses a NEMA 6-20 plug with a NEMA 5-15 adapter, and provides selectable current settings of 8A, 10A, 12A, and 16A. The listed maximum charging power is 3.68 kW at 240V/16A.

The charger includes one-touch operation, delayed charging from 2 to 8 hours, a 25-foot cable, and a waterproof, wear-resistant storage bag. The listing states an IP67 rating, automatic shutdown for overvoltage, overheating, and short circuits, ETL certification, FCC listing, and compliance with UL safety standards. Compatibility is listed for J1772-standard vehicles, including BEVs and PHEVs from brands such as Ford, GM, Nissan, Audi, Kia, Honda, BMW, Hyundai, GMC, Chevrolet, and Mercedes. Tesla vehicles and NACS connectors are not supported. A two-year warranty is stated.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Supports 120V and 240V charging with a NEMA 6-20 plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter
  • Offers selectable charging currents of 8A, 10A, 12A, and 16A
  • Lists maximum charging power of 3.68 kW at 240V/16A
  • Includes a 2–8 hour delayed-charging function
  • Uses a J1772 connector for compatible BEVs and PHEVs
  • Includes a 25-foot cable and a storage bag
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Supports both Level 1 and Level 2 charging
  • Includes connections for compatible 120V and 240V outlets
  • Provides adjustable current and delayed-charging controls

Consider another option if

  • Not compatible with Tesla vehicles or NACS connectors
  • The listing provides no detailed specifications array or customer review excerpts
  • Operating-system requirements are not provided
3
-11%
BETUMODA 40A Level 2 EV Charger, 240V 9.6kW, NEMA 14-50, 25ft J1772 Cable
Limited Time

BETUMODA 40A Level 2 EV Charger, 240V 9.6kW, NEMA 14-50, 25ft J1772 Cable

BETUMODA
9.9 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
$189.99 Save $20.00
$169.99
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Supports SAE-J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids
  • Offers adjustable charging current for different charging requirements
  • Includes a long 25-foot cable and delay timer
  • Provides multiple listed electrical safety protections

Cons

  • Tesla adapter is sold separately
  • The product is recommended for use only in a dry environment with a properly grounded outlet
  • Operating-system requirements and detailed specifications were not provided
Product Details

The BETUMODA Level 2 EV Charger is a portable electric vehicle charger rated for up to 40A and 9.6kW at 240V through a NEMA 14-50 plug. It includes a 25-foot charging cable and supports five current settings: 8A, 16A, 24A, 32A, and 40A.

The charger is designed for SAE-J1772-compliant electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids. A Tesla adapter is sold separately. Its control interface includes a programmable 0-12 hour delay timer for scheduled charging.

Listed safety protections include over-voltage, over-current, overheating, and short-circuit protection. The product should be used in a dry environment, connected to a properly grounded outlet, and operated with the original included adapter.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Up to 40A and 9.6kW of Level 2 charging power
  • Five adjustable current settings: 8A, 16A, 24A, 32A, and 40A
  • 25-foot charging cable for added reach in garages and driveways
  • NEMA 14-50 plug for 240V charging
  • Programmable 0-12 hour delay timer
  • Safety protections include over-voltage, over-current, overheating, and short-circuit protection
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Supports SAE-J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids
  • Offers adjustable charging current for different charging requirements
  • Includes a long 25-foot cable and delay timer

Consider another option if

  • Tesla adapter is sold separately
  • The product is recommended for use only in a dry environment with a properly grounded outlet
  • Operating-system requirements and detailed specifications were not provided
4
-6%
Romaa 16A Portable EV Charger with J1772 Connector, NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 Plugs, 25-Foot Cable
Top Rated

Romaa 16A Portable EV Charger with J1772 Connector, NEMA 6-20 and 5-15 Plugs, 25-Foot Cable

Romaa
9.6 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
$96.79 Save $5.50
$91.29
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Dual-plug design supports NEMA 6-20 and NEMA 5-15 outlets
  • 25-foot cable can reach charge ports in garages, driveways, and roadside locations
  • J1772 connector is compatible with a broad range of listed BEVs and PHEVs
  • ETL Listed and FCC Compliant according to the published product data

Cons

  • Not compatible with Tesla EVs without a separate J1772-to-NACS adapter
  • NEMA 5-15 charging is automatically limited to approximately 12A on 15A outlets
  • Vehicle-dependent charging rates are listed as approximately 11–15 mi/hr at 240V and 4–6 mi/hr at 120V
Product Details

The Romaa 16A portable EV charger uses a standard J1772 connector and includes NEMA 6-20 and NEMA 5-15 plugs. With a NEMA 6-20 outlet, the charger is listed at 240V and 3.8 kW, adding approximately 11–15 miles of range per hour depending on the vehicle. With a NEMA 5-15 outlet, it is listed at 120V and 1.4 kW, adding approximately 4–6 miles of range per hour and automatically limiting output to approximately 12A on 15A outlets.

The charger has a 25-foot cable and is listed with NEMA Type 3R/IP65 weather and dust protection. Its stated safety features include over-voltage, under-voltage, over-current, over-temperature, grounding, and leakage protection. The product data identifies it as ETL Listed and FCC Compliant.

The J1772 connector is listed as compatible with numerous BEVs and PHEVs, including the Toyota Prius Prime, Toyota RAV4 Prime, Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV, Jeep Wrangler 4xe, Ford Escape PHEV, Kia Niro and Sportage PHEV, Hyundai Tucson PHEV, Volvo XC60/XC90 Recharge, BMW 330e/530e/X5 45e, Audi Q5 TFSI e, and Mini Countryman SE. Tesla EVs require a separate J1772-to-NACS adapter. The package includes the EV charger, a cable strap, carrying bag, and user manual.

Specifications
ColorBK 16A J1772 (No App)
Size16A J1772 (No App)
Dimensions11.81102361 x 3.149606296 x 1.968503935 inches
Weight5.18 pounds
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Supports 240V NEMA 6-20 charging at up to 3.8 kW
  • Supports 120V NEMA 5-15 charging at up to 1.4 kW
  • Includes a standard J1772 connector for compatible BEVs and PHEVs
  • Provides a 25-foot charging cable for extended reach
  • Listed with NEMA Type 3R/IP65 weather and dust protection
  • Includes over-voltage, under-voltage, over-current, over-temperature, grounding, and leakage protection
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Dual-plug design supports NEMA 6-20 and NEMA 5-15 outlets
  • 25-foot cable can reach charge ports in garages, driveways, and roadside locations
  • J1772 connector is compatible with a broad range of listed BEVs and PHEVs

Consider another option if

  • Not compatible with Tesla EVs without a separate J1772-to-NACS adapter
  • NEMA 5-15 charging is automatically limited to approximately 12A on 15A outlets
  • Vehicle-dependent charging rates are listed as approximately 11–15 mi/hr at 240V and 4–6 mi/hr at 120V
5
-23%
SEGUMA 16A Level 1/2 EV Charger with Wi-Fi App, J1772 Connector, NEMA 5-15 Plug and 6-20 Adapter

SEGUMA 16A Level 1/2 EV Charger with Wi-Fi App, J1772 Connector, NEMA 5-15 Plug and 6-20 Adapter

SEGUMA
9.7 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
$155.99 Save $36.00
$119.99
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Can connect to a standard household outlet with its NEMA 5-15 plug
  • Includes a NEMA 6-20 adapter for 240V Level 2 charging
  • Provides remote monitoring, current adjustment, and delayed charging through the CHAR SHINE app
  • Supports most EVs and hybrids using a J1772 charging port
  • Includes a 1-year warranty and technical support

Cons

  • The charger is not compatible with NEMA 6-15, 10-30, 14-30, 14-50, or 6-50 outlets without a separately sold adapter
  • Tesla vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter, which is not included
  • The plug and socket interface is not waterproof and requires the included cap when idle
Product Details

The SEGUMA portable EV charger has a standard SAE J1772 connector and supports compatible battery-electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids. Its NEMA 5-15 plug supports Level 1 charging from a 120V household outlet at up to 12A, while the included NEMA 6-20 adapter supports Level 2 charging at 240V and up to 16A. Listed charging speeds are 2-5 mph for Level 1 and 10-12 mph for Level 2.

The charger works with the CHAR SHINE app for remote charging-status monitoring, current adjustment from 6A to 16A, and delayed charging schedules from 1 to 12 hours. A 1.77-inch TFT display shows amperage, voltage, power, kWh, charging time, and work status.

Safety features listed for the unit include overvoltage, undervoltage, overcurrent, overcharging, overheating, short-circuit, leakage, grounding, and lightning protection. The product is listed as ETL and FCC certified, with IP66 protection and an operating temperature range of -22°F to +122°F. The plug and socket interface is not waterproof.

The charger includes a 25-foot cable, storage bag, 1-year warranty, and technical support. It is not compatible with NEMA 6-15, 10-30, 14-30, 14-50, or 6-50 outlets without a separately sold adapter. Tesla vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter, which is not included.

Specifications
ColorBlack
Size25 ft
Dimensions14.960629906 x 12.598425184 x 4.330708657 inches
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Supports Level 1 charging at 120V and Level 2 charging at 240V
  • Includes Wi-Fi and CHAR SHINE app control for charging status, current adjustment, and scheduling
  • Offers selectable charging currents of 6A, 8A, 10A, 12A, and 16A
  • Uses a standard SAE J1772 connector for compatible EVs and PHEVs
  • Includes a 1.77-inch TFT display showing amperage, voltage, power, kWh, charging time, and work status
  • Features a 25-foot charging cable and portable storage bag
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Can connect to a standard household outlet with its NEMA 5-15 plug
  • Includes a NEMA 6-20 adapter for 240V Level 2 charging
  • Provides remote monitoring, current adjustment, and delayed charging through the CHAR SHINE app

Consider another option if

  • The charger is not compatible with NEMA 6-15, 10-30, 14-30, 14-50, or 6-50 outlets without a separately sold adapter
  • Tesla vehicles require a J1772-to-Tesla adapter, which is not included
  • The plug and socket interface is not waterproof and requires the included cap when idle
6
-20%
BETUMODA J1772 EV Charger, 16A, 25-Foot Cable, 110V/240V, NEMA 5-15/6-20

BETUMODA J1772 EV Charger, 16A, 25-Foot Cable, 110V/240V, NEMA 5-15/6-20

BETUMODA
9.4 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
$124.99 Save $25.00
$99.99
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Supports a wide range of North American EVs and plug-in hybrids using the SAE J1772 standard
  • Offers adjustable charging current for different charging scenarios
  • Provides both 110V/120V and 220V/240V connection options
  • Includes a long 25-foot cable and delayed-start charging

Cons

  • Tesla vehicles require a separate SAE J1772 adapter, which is sold separately
  • Charging output varies by connection: the NEMA 5-15 setup is listed at 10A and 1.2 kW, while the NEMA 6-20 setup reaches up to 16A and 3.84 kW
Product Details

The BETUMODA portable electric vehicle charger is an SAE J1772 charger for North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles. It supports adjustable current settings of 8A, 10A, 13A, and 16A and includes NEMA 5-15 and NEMA 6-20 plug compatibility.

With the NEMA 6-20 plug at 220V/240V and 16A, the charger is listed at up to 3.84 kW and approximately 15.36 miles of charging range per hour. With the NEMA 5-15 plug at 110V/120V and 10A, it is listed at 1.2 kW and approximately 4.4 miles of charging range per hour.

The charger has a 25-foot cable, a 2.8-inch touch display, and a delayed-start timer adjustable from 1 to 12 hours. The housing is rated IP65 and the product is described as designed to meet CE and FCC safety standards, with overvoltage, overload, short-circuit, grounding, and leakage protection. Tesla vehicles require a separate SAE J1772 adapter.

Specifications
Colorblack
Size25FT
Dimensions16 x 13 x 5.9 inches
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • SAE J1772 compatibility for North American electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids
  • Adjustable current settings of 8A, 10A, 13A, and 16A
  • Includes NEMA 5-15 and NEMA 6-20 plug compatibility
  • 25-foot charging cable supports more flexible vehicle placement
  • 2.8-inch touch display provides current selection and charging controls
  • Delayed-start scheduling can be set from 1 to 12 hours
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Supports a wide range of North American EVs and plug-in hybrids using the SAE J1772 standard
  • Offers adjustable charging current for different charging scenarios
  • Provides both 110V/120V and 220V/240V connection options

Consider another option if

  • Tesla vehicles require a separate SAE J1772 adapter, which is sold separately
  • Charging output varies by connection: the NEMA 5-15 setup is listed at 10A and 1.2 kW, while the NEMA 6-20 setup reaches up to 16A and 3.84 kW
7

CHARGEHERE 16A Portable EV Charger, Level 1/2, J1772, 120V/240V, 25FT Cable, NEMA 6-20 & 5-15

CHARGEHERE
9.9 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Supports both 120V household charging and 240V charging up to 16A or 3.84kW
  • Compatible with SAE J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles in North America
  • Adjustable current settings can be matched to a home's electrical capacity and vehicle requirements
  • Long 25-foot cable supports use in garages, driveways, apartment parking spaces, and outdoor locations

Cons

  • Tesla and other NACS-equipped vehicles require a compatible J1772 adapter
  • 240V Level 2 charging requires a NEMA 6-20 outlet
  • Wi-Fi and app connectivity are not included
Product Details

The CHARGEHERE portable EV charger is a dual-voltage EVSE for SAE J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles. It supports 120V charging with the included NEMA 5-15 adapter and 240V charging through a NEMA 6-20 outlet, with charging current options from 6A to 16A.

  • Connector: SAE J1772
  • Charging voltage: 120V or 240V
  • Maximum charging current: 16A
  • Maximum listed output: 3.84kW at 240V
  • Cable length: 25 feet
  • Controls: LCD display, onboard buttons, and 1-10 hour delay timer
  • Protection: Over-current, over-voltage, overheating, leakage, and short-circuit protection
  • Weather resistance: IP66 enclosure
  • Compatibility note: Tesla and other NACS-equipped vehicles require a compatible J1772 adapter
Specifications
Colorblack
Size16A
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories
BindingTools & Home Improvement

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Supports Level 1 charging at 120V and Level 2 charging at 240V
  • Offers selectable charging currents of 6A, 8A, 10A, 13A, or 16A
  • Includes a 25-foot charging cable for flexible vehicle placement
  • LCD display shows charging current, voltage, charging time, and energy delivered
  • Built-in 1-10 hour delay timer works without Wi-Fi or an app
  • Includes a NEMA 6-20 plug and NEMA 5-15 adapter
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Supports both 120V household charging and 240V charging up to 16A or 3.84kW
  • Compatible with SAE J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid vehicles in North America
  • Adjustable current settings can be matched to a home's electrical capacity and vehicle requirements

Consider another option if

  • Tesla and other NACS-equipped vehicles require a compatible J1772 adapter
  • 240V Level 2 charging requires a NEMA 6-20 outlet
  • Wi-Fi and app connectivity are not included
8
-25%
eTimxon 16A Portable J1772 EV Charger, Level 1/2, 110V-240V, NEMA 6-20 Plug, NEMA 5-15 Adapter, ETL Certified

eTimxon 16A Portable J1772 EV Charger, Level 1/2, 110V-240V, NEMA 6-20 Plug, NEMA 5-15 Adapter, ETL Certified

eTimxon
9.6 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
$129.99 Save $31.87
$98.12
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Offers both Level 1 and Level 2 charging options
  • Includes NEMA 6-20 and NEMA 5-15 connection options
  • Provides up to 3.84kW output in Level 2 mode
  • Includes automatic temperature-related power reduction and charging resumption

Cons

  • Level 2 charging requires a dedicated NEMA 6-20 outlet
  • The NEMA 5-15 connection must be manually adjusted to 12A
  • Charging an 87kWh battery is listed as approximately 22.4 hours at Level 2 and over 60 hours at Level 1; actual time depends on the vehicle and circuit
Product Details

The eTimxon portable J1772 EV charger supports dual-level charging. Its fixed NEMA 6-20 plug provides Level 2 charging at 240V, 16A, and 3.84kW when connected to a dedicated NEMA 6-20 outlet. The included NEMA 5-15 adapter provides Level 1 charging at 120V and 12A from a standard three-prong household outlet.

The charger includes adjustable current and delay-time settings. When charging temperature exceeds 158°F, the unit can reduce charging power; if the temperature remains high, charging may temporarily suspend and automatically resume after temperatures return to normal. The product is listed as ETL certified.

Before purchase, verify that the available outlet matches the required NEMA connection. The stated charging time for an 87kWh battery pack is approximately 22.4 hours using Level 2 charging and over 60 hours using Level 1 charging. Actual charging speed depends on the vehicle and circuit.

Specifications
ColorBlack
Size16A J1772 Connector
Dimensions12 x 16 x 5 inches
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories
BindingElectronics

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Supports Level 2 charging at 240V, 16A, and 3.84kW through the fixed NEMA 6-20 plug
  • Supports Level 1 charging at 120V and 12A with the included NEMA 5-15 adapter
  • Provides dual-level charging for compatible J1772-equipped vehicles
  • Includes adjustable current and delay-time settings
  • Temperature protection reduces charging power above 158°F and can temporarily suspend charging
  • Portable design is intended for use in locations with the corresponding NEMA outlet
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Offers both Level 1 and Level 2 charging options
  • Includes NEMA 6-20 and NEMA 5-15 connection options
  • Provides up to 3.84kW output in Level 2 mode

Consider another option if

  • Level 2 charging requires a dedicated NEMA 6-20 outlet
  • The NEMA 5-15 connection must be manually adjusted to 12A
  • Charging an 87kWh battery is listed as approximately 22.4 hours at Level 2 and over 60 hours at Level 1; actual time depends on the vehicle and circuit
9

ChargeHere 32A Dual-Voltage J1772 EV Charger with 25FT Cable, NEMA 14-50/5-15, UL Listed

CHARGEHERE
9.8 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Dual-voltage operation supports both 120V and 240V outlets
  • Long 25-foot cable can reach vehicles in garages, driveways, and outdoor parking areas
  • Adjustable current settings help match charging and electrical requirements
  • Compatible with most North American J1772 EVs and PHEVs

Cons

  • Tesla and other NACS-equipped vehicles require a compatible J1772 adapter
  • The maximum 32A and 7.68kW charging specification applies to 240V NEMA 14-50 operation
  • Charging controls use onboard buttons, with no Wi-Fi or mobile app specified
Product Details

The ChargeHere portable EV charger is a dual-voltage Level 1 and Level 2 EVSE with an SAE J1772 connector. It supports 120V charging with the included NEMA 5-15 adapter and up to 32A or 7.68kW charging through a 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet.

Selectable current settings include 6A, 8A, 10A, 13A, 16A, 20A, 24A, and 32A. The unit also includes a 1–10 hour delay timer, onboard control buttons, and an LCD display showing charging current, voltage, charging time, and energy delivered.

The charger is listed as UL Listed and includes protection against over-current, over-voltage, overheating, leakage, and short circuits. Its IP66 weather-resistant enclosure and 25-foot cable support indoor and outdoor charging. It is designed for most North American J1772 EVs and PHEVs; Tesla and other NACS-equipped vehicles require a compatible J1772 adapter.

Specifications
Colorblack
Size32A
Weight10.3 Pounds
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories
BindingTools & Home Improvement

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Supports up to 32A and 7.68kW charging with a 240V NEMA 14-50 outlet
  • Includes a NEMA 5-15 adapter for 120V charging
  • Offers adjustable charging current from 6A to 32A
  • Includes a 1–10 hour delay timer without Wi-Fi or a mobile app
  • LCD display shows charging current, voltage, time, and energy delivered
  • 25-foot cable provides added parking flexibility
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Dual-voltage operation supports both 120V and 240V outlets
  • Long 25-foot cable can reach vehicles in garages, driveways, and outdoor parking areas
  • Adjustable current settings help match charging and electrical requirements

Consider another option if

  • Tesla and other NACS-equipped vehicles require a compatible J1772 adapter
  • The maximum 32A and 7.68kW charging specification applies to 240V NEMA 14-50 operation
  • Charging controls use onboard buttons, with no Wi-Fi or mobile app specified
10

BETUMODA 16A Portable J1772 EV Charger, Level 1/2, 25ft Cable, NEMA 5-15 and 6-20 Plugs

BETUMODA
9.5 /10
AI Score
AI score rating is a scoring system developed by our experts. The score is from 0 to 10 based on the data collected by the AI tool. This score doesn't impact from any manufacturer or sales agent websites. Learn more ›
Pros & Cons

Pros

  • Supports both Level 1 and Level 2 charging configurations
  • Offers adjustable current settings and a delayed start timer
  • Provides real-time charging information through the touch LED display
  • Includes multiple protection features and an IP65-rated housing

Cons

  • The NEMA 5-15 adapter is limited to 5-15 outlets and should not be used above 16A
  • Tesla vehicles require an adapter
  • The published data does not specify a vehicle charging-network protocol beyond SAE J1772 compatibility
Product Details

The BETUMODA portable EV charger is designed for SAE J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids. It has a 25-foot cable, adjustable 8A, 10A, 13A, and 16A current settings, and supports Level 1 charging through a NEMA 5-15 adapter or Level 2 charging through a NEMA 6-20 plug. The NEMA 6-20 configuration is listed at 240V, 16A, and 3.68kW. A 1- to 12-hour delayed start timer and 2.8-inch touch LED display provide charging controls and information on voltage, current, and power load. Safety features include overheat, overvoltage, and overcurrent protection, while the control box has an IP65-rated housing. The NEMA 5-15 adapter is compatible only with 5-15 outlets and should not be used above 16A. Tesla vehicles require an adapter.

Specifications
ColorBlack
Size25 FT-16 A
Product GroupAutomotive Parts and Accessories

Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.

Detailed Review

What stands out in the currently available product data:

  • Supports SAE J1772 electric vehicles and plug-in hybrids
  • Offers adjustable charging currents of 8A, 10A, 13A, and 16A
  • Includes NEMA 5-15 and NEMA 6-20 plug compatibility
  • Provides a 1- to 12-hour delayed start timer
  • Displays voltage, current, and power load on a 2.8-inch touch LED screen
  • Includes overheat, overvoltage, and overcurrent protection
Best For / Avoid If

Best for buyers prioritizing

  • Supports both Level 1 and Level 2 charging configurations
  • Offers adjustable current settings and a delayed start timer
  • Provides real-time charging information through the touch LED display

Consider another option if

  • The NEMA 5-15 adapter is limited to 5-15 outlets and should not be used above 16A
  • Tesla vehicles require an adapter
  • The published data does not specify a vehicle charging-network protocol beyond SAE J1772 compatibility

The Short Answer

CarTechTalk may earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through product links. This does not change how products are evaluated.

  • Best fit for most Volt owners: ChargeHere 16A Level 1 and Level 2 charger
  • Best 16A option with a stated warranty: AIXINE Level 1 and Level 2 charger
  • Best for app-based 16A control: SEGUMA 16A Level 1/2 charger
  • Best 32A smart option: AIMILER Level 2 charger
  • Best maximum-output option: BETUMODA 40A Level 2 charger
  • Lowest observed price: Romaa 16A portable charger

The 32A and 40A models make the most sense if you already have the appropriate 240V circuit or want an EVSE that could support a future vehicle. They should not be expected to make a Volt charge faster than its onboard charger allows.

Key Criteria for EV Charging & Automotive Power

We compared the published manufacturer specifications for connector compatibility, voltage, maximum current, outlet type, cable length, current adjustment, scheduling, weather protection, and stated third-party safety listings. We favored models that clearly match Chevrolet’s listed J1772 charging requirement and provide practical controls for household circuits.

No first-hand CarTechTalk testing was provided for these products. The provided listings also contain no customer review excerpts, and their total Amazon review count is zero. Customer feedback therefore did not influence the recommendations. Performance, long-term reliability, app quality, and durability remain unverified.

Chevy Volt Charger Comparison

ChargerListed outletsMaximum currentCableControlsListed certification
AIXINE Level 1&2NEMA 6-20; 5-15 adapter16A25 ft8–16A; 2–8 hour delayETL; FCC
BETUMODA Level 2NEMA 14-5040A25 ft8–40A; 0–12 hour delayNot provided
ChargeHere 16ANEMA 6-20; 5-15 adapter16A25 ft6–16A; 1–10 hour delayUL Listed
AIMILER Level 2NEMA 14-5032A25 ft16–32A; Wi-Fi/app and delayETL; FCC
ChargeHere 32ANEMA 14-50; 5-15 adapter32A25 ft6–32A; 1–10 hour delayUL Listed
SEGUMA 16ANEMA 5-15; 6-20 adapter16ANot provided6–16A; app and 1–12 hour delayETL; FCC
Romaa 16ANEMA 6-20; 5-1516A25 ftNot providedETL; FCC
eTimxon 16ANEMA 6-20; 5-15 adapter16ANot providedCurrent and delay adjustmentETL
BETUMODA 16A, B0FXF6WVHHNEMA 6-20; 5-1516A25 ft8–16A; 1–12 hour delayFCC; CE
BETUMODA 16A, B0G11QK13MNEMA 6-20; 5-15 adapter16A25 ft8–16A; 1–12 hour delayFCC; CE

Buying Advice and What to Check

An EVSE supplies AC power, but the vehicle’s onboard charger determines how much power it can accept. A 40A station does not force 40A into the car, nor does its larger rating guarantee shorter charging time. Because the listed evidence does not establish each Chevy Volt model year’s acceptance limit, consult the vehicle manual before choosing based on amperage.

Outlet matching is equally important. NEMA 5-15 is the familiar 120V household receptacle. NEMA 6-20 and 14-50 are different 240V receptacles and are not interchangeable. Do not use an ordinary extension cord or an improvised outlet adapter. Have a qualified electrician verify receptacle condition, grounding, breaker size, wiring, and applicable code requirements, particularly for continuous EV charging.

Selection Guide

  1. Identify the outlet. Match the charger’s plug to the actual receptacle rather than relying on voltage alone.
  2. Confirm the circuit capacity. Adjustable current is useful only when the setting is appropriate for the branch circuit. A standard 15A household circuit should not be used at a 16A continuous setting.
  3. Check the Volt’s limit. Use the owner’s manual or Chevrolet documentation for the model year to determine whether more than 16A can offer any benefit.
  4. Measure the route. A 25-foot cable adds parking flexibility, but the control box and plug must also reach a properly located outlet.
  5. Prioritize documented safety listings. UL or ETL listing provides clearer third-party evidence than broad marketing language alone.
  6. Decide whether smart controls matter. A basic delay timer may be enough for off-peak charging. Wi-Fi is most useful when remote status and charging history are genuinely needed.

Buyer Questions Answered

Can a Chevy Volt use a J1772 charger?

The manufacturers of all 10 products list SAE J1772 compatibility that includes Chevrolet vehicles. Verify the charge inlet and owner’s manual for your specific Volt, particularly if the vehicle has been modified or imported.

Will a 32A or 40A EV charger charge a Volt faster?

Only if the specific Volt’s onboard charger can accept more power than a 16A EVSE provides. The published product information does not document model-year-specific Volt limits, so a higher EVSE rating should be treated mainly as potential future-vehicle capacity unless Chevrolet’s documentation confirms a benefit.

Can I charge from a regular household outlet?

Yes, when using a charger and plug configured for a NEMA 5-15 outlet at an appropriate current. Avoid sharing the circuit with large appliances, and stop using an outlet that becomes hot, discolored, loose, or damaged. Ask an electrician to inspect questionable wiring.

Is an outdoor rating enough for installation in any weather?

No. An enclosure rating does not make every plug-to-receptacle connection waterproof. Follow the manufacturer’s placement instructions, protect connections from standing water, and keep receptacle covers and connector caps in place when required.

Which One to Buy

For most shoppers seeking the best EV charger for a Chevy Volt, the 16A [acms_link asin=”B0FSRW5PPL”]ChargeHere Level 1 & Level 2 EV Charger[/acms_link] offers the clearest combination of dual-voltage flexibility, adjustable current, a 25-foot cable, scheduling, and manufacturer-listed UL certification. The AIXINE is a compelling alternative when a stated two-year warranty matters, while the SEGUMA adds app control at the same maximum current.

Choose the AIMILER 32A, ChargeHere 32A, or BETUMODA 40A only when the outlet and circuit are appropriate and future-EV capacity justifies the extra output. Whichever model you select, matching the EVSE to the outlet, circuit, and vehicle acceptance limit is more important than buying the largest amperage number.