LAUNCH sells one of the broadest scan tool lineups in the aftermarket, and that range is exactly what makes choosing hard: the same brand name covers a $43 check-engine code reader and a $1,779 heavy-duty diagnostic tablet. This guide sorts the catalog by what each tool can actually reach, engine-only codes, four-system scans, all-system bidirectional control, J2534 pass-thru ECU programming, and 24V commercial work, so you can match the tool to your vehicle mix instead of overbuying. Prices below were observed at the time of writing and can change at any time; confirm the current price and, ideally, coverage for your specific VIN before buying.
For a closer look at a related choice, see OBD2 Scanner Buying Guide for Beginners, Best Rated OBD2 Scanner and Best Bluetooth Code Reader for DIY Diagnostics.
Quick Verdict
- Best budget code reader: Launch CR529 OBD2 Diagnostic Scan Tool Code Reader, engine codes, emissions readiness, and EVAP tests on any 1996+ OBD2 vehicle.
- Best budget step-up: Launch OBD2 Scanner CRP123X V3.0 Elite,7 Resets, engine, transmission, ABS, and SRS coverage plus seven reset services.
- Best for GM owners: LAUNCH Creader Elite X500 for GM OBD2 Scanner, full-system scans and bidirectional tests across Buick, Chevrolet, Cadillac, and GMC.
- Best mid-range bidirectional tablet: LAUNCH X431 CRP919EBT OBD2 Scanner, all-system scanning, ECU coding, and 4000+ listed active tests.
- Best for wireless workflows: LAUNCH X431 CRP919XBT OBD2 Scanner, similar coverage with a wireless VCI for bench-side work.
- Best for J2534 pass-thru programming: the X431 PRO3 V+ Elite SmartLink listings, factory-level ECU flashing without a separate pass-thru box.
- Best flagship: Launch X431 Scanner PRO5 J2534 Pr0gram ECU Coding, the fastest listed hardware here, with remote diagnostics.
- Best for heavy duty: LAUNCH X431 PRO3S+ Smartlink HD Heavy Duty Truck, the only listing here covering both 12V and 24V vehicles out of the box.
Pros
- Wireless operation through the DBSCAR VII Bluetooth and USB connector.
- Includes bidirectional controls and ECU coding, adaptation, calibration, and initialization functions.
- Supports FCA SGW AutoAuth for FCA vehicles, including Chrysler models from 2017 and later.
- Large 6300mAh battery and dual-band 2.4G and 5GHz Wi-Fi support.
Cons
- The DoIP adapter is sold separately.
Specifications
| Color | Red |
|---|---|
| Size | 7 Inch |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Automotive |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Wireless operation through the DBSCAR VII Bluetooth and USB connector.
- Includes bidirectional controls and ECU coding, adaptation, calibration, and initialization functions.
- Supports FCA SGW AutoAuth for FCA vehicles, including Chrysler models from 2017 and later.
Consider another option if
- The DoIP adapter is sold separately.
Pros
- Offers full-system diagnostics beyond basic engine-code reading
- Combines bidirectional controls with maintenance reset functions
- Includes built-in Wi-Fi updating without requiring an SD card or computer
- Supports GM brands including Buick, Chevrolet, Cadillac, and GMC
- Includes a 2-year warranty and 60-day hassle-free return policy according to the listing
Cons
- Exact diagnostic and reset functions vary by vehicle model and year, with VIN confirmation recommended
- GM-specific one-touch Auto VIN and full-system claims are listed for 2006 and newer models
- Health reports are in English, although the device supports 12 system languages
Specifications
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
|---|
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Offers full-system diagnostics beyond basic engine-code reading
- Combines bidirectional controls with maintenance reset functions
- Includes built-in Wi-Fi updating without requiring an SD card or computer
Consider another option if
- Exact diagnostic and reset functions vary by vehicle model and year, with VIN confirmation recommended
- GM-specific one-touch Auto VIN and full-system claims are listed for 2006 and newer models
- Health reports are in English, although the device supports 12 system languages
Pros
- Combines wireless connectivity with bidirectional controls and all-system scanning
- Includes ECU coding and a broad set of listed reset and relearn functions
- Supports newer CANFD and DoIP vehicle communication protocols
- Includes FCA AutoAuth and V.A.G. guided diagnostic features
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Combines wireless connectivity with bidirectional controls and all-system scanning
- Includes ECU coding and a broad set of listed reset and relearn functions
- Supports newer CANFD and DoIP vehicle communication protocols
Pros
- Seven reset services are listed as included at no extra cost
- Provides four-system diagnostics with live data and freeze-frame information
- Includes built-in DTC lookup and diagnostic report tools
- Lists FCA AutoAuth support for 2018+ vehicles and CAN FD and DoIP readiness with an adapter
Cons
- Vehicle coverage and menu availability vary, and four-system diagnostics are listed as compatible with most vehicles after 2006
- Advanced MALL features and some add-on modules may require additional purchases and carry restrictions
- CAN FD and DoIP functions require an adapter
Specifications
| Dimensions | 11.02 x 9.06 x 3.54 inches |
|---|---|
| Weight | 1.2 Pounds |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Automotive |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Seven reset services are listed as included at no extra cost
- Provides four-system diagnostics with live data and freeze-frame information
- Includes built-in DTC lookup and diagnostic report tools
Consider another option if
- Vehicle coverage and menu availability vary, and four-system diagnostics are listed as compatible with most vehicles after 2006
- Advanced MALL features and some add-on modules may require additional purchases and carry restrictions
- CAN FD and DoIP functions require an adapter
Pros
- J2534 functionality is included through the SmartLink C 2.0 interface
- Bidirectional controls can command vehicle actuators for diagnostic checks
- Includes FCA AutoAuth support for 2018 and newer Chrysler, Dodge, Fiat, and related models
- Offers 4GB of RAM, 64GB of storage, a 6300mAh battery, and Android 10.0
Cons
- HD truck module configuration requires separate HD diagnostic software purchased by vehicle model
- J2534 pass-through operation requires a PC with OEM diagnostic software
Specifications
| Color | Grey |
|---|---|
| Size | 10.1 inch screen |
| Dimensions | 10.1 x 1.5 x 7.5 inches |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Automotive |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- J2534 functionality is included through the SmartLink C 2.0 interface
- Bidirectional controls can command vehicle actuators for diagnostic checks
- Includes FCA AutoAuth support for 2018 and newer Chrysler, Dodge, Fiat, and related models
Consider another option if
- HD truck module configuration requires separate HD diagnostic software purchased by vehicle model
- J2534 pass-through operation requires a PC with OEM diagnostic software
Pros
- Combines bidirectional testing, ECU coding, topology mapping, and J2534 support in one scanner
- Supports more than 200 brands, including passenger, heavy-duty, and new-energy vehicles
- Offers 25 or more interface languages
- Includes a SmartLink C V2.0 box with an LED screen and three connection options
Cons
- J2534 pass-through use requires separate OE protocol software
- The included software upgrades are limited to 2 years
Specifications
| Color | black |
|---|---|
| Size | PRO3 V+ Elite |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Automotive |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Combines bidirectional testing, ECU coding, topology mapping, and J2534 support in one scanner
- Supports more than 200 brands, including passenger, heavy-duty, and new-energy vehicles
- Offers 25 or more interface languages
Consider another option if
- J2534 pass-through use requires separate OE protocol software
- The included software upgrades are limited to 2 years
Pros
- Covers both passenger vehicles and heavy-duty 24V vehicles
- Combines J2534 programming support with diagnostic and ECU coding functions
- Includes a broad selection of service reset functions
- Supports diagnostics across multiple vehicle systems
Specifications
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
|---|---|
| Binding | Automotive |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Covers both passenger vehicles and heavy-duty 24V vehicles
- Combines J2534 programming support with diagnostic and ECU coding functions
- Includes a broad selection of service reset functions
Pros
- Combines diagnostics, ECU coding, J2534 pass-through, topology mapping, and active tests in one scan tool
- Supports a broad range of vehicle brands and modern protocols, including CAN-FD and DoIP
- Includes two years of upgrades and five years of backup support according to the listing
- Offers both local diagnostic use and remote web-based diagnostic access
Cons
- Function and vehicle coverage varies by year, make, model, and specific module
- Paid original-equipment programming software is required for some J2534 programming applications
Specifications
| Color | RED Black |
|---|---|
| Size | X431 PRO5 |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Automotive |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Combines diagnostics, ECU coding, J2534 pass-through, topology mapping, and active tests in one scan tool
- Supports a broad range of vehicle brands and modern protocols, including CAN-FD and DoIP
- Includes two years of upgrades and five years of backup support according to the listing
Consider another option if
- Function and vehicle coverage varies by year, make, model, and specific module
- Paid original-equipment programming software is required for some J2534 programming applications
Pros
- Supports OBD2-compliant vehicles from 1996 and newer
- Uses a 2.8-inch color LCD with shortcut buttons, a built-in DTC lookup library, and red-yellow-green status LEDs
- Supports KWP2000, ISO9141, J1850 VPW, J1850 PWM, and CAN protocols
- Does not require a battery for operation
Cons
- The listing states that the scanner is not compatible with iOS PC
Specifications
| Color | Black |
|---|---|
| Size | CR529 |
| Dimensions | 6.46 x 3.84 x 1.18 Inches |
| Weight | 1.00971715996 pounds |
| Product Group | Automotive Parts and Accessories |
| Binding | Automotive |
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Supports OBD2-compliant vehicles from 1996 and newer
- Uses a 2.8-inch color LCD with shortcut buttons, a built-in DTC lookup library, and red-yellow-green status LEDs
- Supports KWP2000, ISO9141, J1850 VPW, J1850 PWM, and CAN protocols
Consider another option if
- The listing states that the scanner is not compatible with iOS PC
How We Chose
This is an editorial evaluation of the manufacturer-listed specifications for nine LAUNCH tools. We compared system coverage, protocol support (CAN FD, DoIP, J2534), bidirectional capability, service-function counts, hardware (screen size, memory, battery), and update policies. CarTechTalk did not run hands-on vehicle testing for this guide, and we assign no editorial scores; where a capability is not listed by the manufacturer, we say so rather than assume it. Coverage figures are LAUNCH’s own claims, and the listings themselves caution that functions vary by model and year, sending your VIN to LAUNCH support before purchase is the most reliable way to confirm a specific function on your vehicle.
| Model | Vehicle coverage (manufacturer-listed) | Bidirectional control | J2534 pass-thru | Reset/service functions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CR529 | OBD2-compliant vehicles, 1996+ | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| CRP123X V3.0 Elite | 90+ brands; 4-system on most 2006+ vehicles | Not listed | Not listed | 7 |
| Creader Elite X500 (GM) | GM brands full-system; standard OBD2 on 1996+ | Yes | Not listed | 10 listed |
| X431 CRP919EBT | 160+ makes | Yes (4000+ active tests) | Not listed | 35+ |
| X431 CRP919XBT | 99% of cars (per listing) | Yes | Not listed | 35+ |
| X431 PRO3 V+ Elite (both listings) | 200+ brands | Yes (3000+ active tests) | Yes (SmartLink C V2.0) | 60+ |
| X431 PRO5 | 200+ brands | Yes (3000+ active tests) | Yes (SmartLink C V2.0) | 60+ |
| X431 PRO3S+ Smartlink HD | 12V and 24V cars and heavy-duty trucks | Yes | Yes (Smartlink C) | 60+ |
The Best Launch Scan Tools by Use Case
Best budget code reader: Launch CR529
The Launch CR529 OBD2 Diagnostic Scan Tool Code Reader is the cheapest entry into LAUNCH’s ecosystem. The manufacturer lists read/erase codes, I/M readiness, freeze frame data, one-click smog check, Mode 6 on-board monitoring, Mode 8 EVAP testing, O2 sensor tests, live data in text or graph form, a DTC lookup library, and red-yellow-green status LEDs. It is plug-and-play with no battery required and includes lifetime free updates across seven languages. Best for: check-engine diagnosis and emissions-readiness checks on any OBD2-compliant 1996+ vehicle. Skip it if: you need ABS, airbag, or transmission codes, maintenance resets, or bidirectional tests, none are listed, or if you plan to print reports from a Mac, since the listing notes PC software is not iOS-compatible.
Best budget step-up: Launch CRP123X V3.0 Elite
At $177.64, the Launch OBD2 Scanner CRP123X V3.0 Elite,7 Resets adds the two systems DIYers most often need beyond the engine: the listing covers engine, transmission, ABS, and SRS (on most 2006+ vehicles), with seven included resets, oil, ABS bleed, SRS, throttle, EPB, BMS, and DPF regeneration. It also lists AutoVIN, 90+ brand coverage, FCA AutoAuth for 2018+ SGW vehicles, CAN FD and DoIP readiness with an adapter, a 5-inch touchscreen, 6000mAh battery, lifetime free upgrades, and a 5-year backup policy. Best for: home wrenchers who want brake and airbag codes plus basic resets. Skip it if: you need all-system depth or bidirectional active tests, which are not listed for this model, or if the paid add-on modules in the built-in MALL store bother you.
Best for GM owners: LAUNCH Creader Elite X500
The LAUNCH Creader Elite X500 for GM OBD2 Scanner ($189.99) is the value pick if your driveway or small shop is full of Buicks, Chevys, Cadillacs, and GMCs. The listing promises full-system diagnostics (ECM, TCM, ABS, SRS, EPB, BCM, and more), bidirectional tests of windows, mirrors, fuel pumps, cooling fans, A/C clutches, and relays, plus ten listed resets including oil, EPB, SAS, ABS bleed, throttle relearn, TPMS, injector trim, BMS, and gear reset. AutoVIN works on GM models from 2006, and standard OBD2 functions cover any 1996+ vehicle. It runs Android 8.1 on a 4-inch touchscreen with a 2-year warranty and 60-day returns. Best for: GM-focused DIYers who want dealer-style module access cheaply. Skip it if: your fleet is mostly non-GM, full-system and bidirectional depth is GM-specific here, and the listing warns functions vary by model and year.
Best mid-range bidirectional tablet: LAUNCH X431 CRP919EBT
The LAUNCH X431 CRP919EBT OBD2 Scanner ($475.14) is where the X431 tablet line starts, and its listing is aggressive for the money: all-system scans across 160+ makes, ECU coding, 35+ reset services, and 4000+ active tests through the DBSCar VII 2-in-1 Bluetooth/USB connector. Protocol coverage includes CAN FD for post-2020 GM vehicles, DoIP with an adapter sold separately, and FCA AutoAuth for SGW-equipped Chrysler-family models from 2017 onward. Hardware runs Android 10 on a 7-inch touchscreen with 4GB RAM, 64GB storage, a 6300mAh battery, and CSV export of live data. Best for: independent techs and serious DIYers who want bidirectional diagnostics on a mixed modern fleet. Skip it if: DoIP vehicles are central to your work (the adapter costs extra) or you need J2534 pass-thru, which is not listed for this model.
Best for wireless workflows: LAUNCH X431 CRP919XBT
The LAUNCH X431 CRP919XBT OBD2 Scanner ($529.00) sits just above the CRP919EBT and swaps the tethered connector for a wireless DBSCar VII VCI (3Mbps maximum per the listing), so you can diagnose from a workbench or walk around the vehicle. It lists CAN FD for 2020+ GM and Chrysler, DoIP for Volvo, Land Rover/Jaguar, and BMW F/G chassis, FCA AutoAuth for 2018+ models, online coding for VW/Audi/Skoda/Ford/Lincoln/Mazda, 35+ resets, bidirectional control, V.A.G guided functions, AutoVIN/AutoScan from 2006, and two years of updates. Best for: mobile techs and shop bays where staying tethered to the OBD port is a hassle. Skip it if: price matters most, the CRP919EBT covers similar ground for less, and this listing does not state an active-test count or screen size, so verify those details before paying the premium.
Best for J2534 pass-thru ECU programming: X431 PRO3 V+ Elite
The Launch X431 PRO3 V+ Elite SmartlinkC Bidirectional and the near-identical Launch X431 PRO3 V+ Elite J2534 Programming (both $1,249.00) are the first tools here that cross into ECU programming. The bundled SmartLink C V2.0 box doubles as a J2534 pass-thru device: connect a PC running the automaker’s own software, which you source separately, and the listings say you can flash or program modules for brands including Toyota, Honda, VW, BMW, Ford, GM, Chrysler, and Mercedes-Benz. Core diagnostics are equally deep: topology mapping, 60+ service functions, 3000+ active tests, online and offline ECU coding, 200+ brand coverage, CAN FD, DoIP, and FCA AutoAuth on Android 10 with a 10.1-inch Gorilla Glass screen and 6300mAh battery. One listing bundles a VSP600 endoscope; the other notes two years of free updates, a 5-year warranty, and heavy-duty module configuration that requires separately purchased HD software by vehicle model. Best for: shops that want OE-level flashing without buying a standalone pass-thru box. Skip it if: you never code or flash ECUs, the CRP919 tablets deliver core bidirectional diagnostics for well under half the price.
Best flagship: Launch X431 PRO5
The Launch X431 Scanner PRO5 J2534 Pr0gram ECU Coding ($1,499.00) is listed as the successor to the PRO3 V+ Elite. It keeps the J2534 SmartLink C V2.0 architecture and adds the fastest hardware in this group per the listings, an 8-core 1.8GHz CPU, 10-inch display, 7000mAh battery, plus 12-in-1 live data on one screen, a large online coding database for VW, Audi, BMW, and Porsche, guided functions for the VW group, real-time topology mapping, and remote diagnostics over the web so an off-site expert can review a tough job. Best for: busy shops that want headroom, speed, and remote-assist capability. Skip it if: budget leads the decision, the PRO3 V+ Elite shares the core diagnostic and J2534 feature set for $250 less, and the speed difference only pays off under daily professional use.
Best for heavy duty: LAUNCH X431 PRO3S+ Smartlink HD
The LAUNCH X431 PRO3S+ Smartlink HD Heavy Duty Truck ($1,779.00) is the only listing here designed for both 12V and 24V electrical systems, covering cars, trucks, buses, trailers, excavators, diesel pickups, and other commercial equipment in one tool. The manufacturer lists J2534 support via Smartlink C, 60+ reset functions, bidirectional control, ECU coding, topology display, all-system diagnostics, CAN FD, DoIP, and 24 languages. Best for: mixed fleets and shops that take commercial or agricultural work. Skip it if: you only service passenger cars, you would be paying a premium for 24V capability you will never touch.
Compatibility and Buying Advice
Every tool here handles standard OBD2 functions on 1996+ compliant vehicles, but the differences start above the engine, and they are mostly about protocols:
- CAN FD matters for post-2020 GM vehicles and, per the CRP919XBT listing, 2020+ Chrysler models. The CRP919EBT, CRP919XBT, both PRO3 V+ Elite listings, the PRO5, and the PRO3S+ list it; the CRP123X is ready with an adapter.
- DoIP matters for late-model BMW F/G chassis, Volvo, and Land Rover/Jaguar vehicles. The CRP919EBT requires a separately sold adapter; the CRP919XBT and the flagships list it natively.
- FCA Secure Gateway: AutoAuth support is listed on the CRP919EBT (2017+ per that listing), CRP919XBT (2018+), CRP123X (2018+), both PRO3 V+ Elite listings, and the PRO5. Without it, 2018+ FCA vehicles lock you out of full diagnostics.
- Voltage: only the PRO3S+ covers 24V heavy-duty systems out of the box. The PRO3 V+ Elite can be configured for heavy-duty modules, but HD software must be purchased separately by vehicle model.
- Update costs: the CR529 and CRP123X list lifetime free updates; the X431 tablets list two years of updates included. What updates cost after that is not stated in the listings, so factor it into total ownership cost.
Two practical habits will save you from a bad purchase. First, treat coverage numbers (200+ brands, 99% of cars) as marketing claims until verified: LAUNCH’s own listings say to send your VIN to confirm specific functions. Second, remember that J2534 pass-thru capability is only half the equation, you also need a PC and the automaker’s programming software subscription, which you buy from the manufacturer, not from LAUNCH.
How to Choose a Launch Scan Tool
- Map the systems you need to reach. Engine codes only? The CR529 is enough. Four core systems plus resets? The CRP123X. Every module on a GM vehicle? The X500. Every module on any brand? An X431 tablet.
- Decide whether bidirectional control earns its keep. If you troubleshoot cooling fans, fuel pumps, window motors, or solenoids, active tests pay for themselves quickly, that means the X500 or any X431 tablet, since the CR529 and CRP123X do not list it.
- Be honest about coding and flashing. Online/offline ECU coding and J2534 pass-thru are listed only on the PRO3 V+ Elite, PRO5, and PRO3S+. If you will never reflash a module, that money belongs in a mid-range tablet instead.
- Check your vehicle’s protocol era. A 2021 GM truck needs CAN FD; a late BMW needs DoIP; a 2019 Ram needs FCA AutoAuth. Match the protocol list above to your oldest and newest vehicles.
- Budget for year three. Update policies diverge after the included period, and a tool that stops receiving coverage updates loses value on newer vehicles.
- Confirm by VIN before buying. It takes minutes and it is the only way to be sure a listed function applies to your exact model and year.
FAQ
Do LAUNCH scan tools work on all vehicles?
All nine handle standard OBD2 functions on 1996+ compliant vehicles. Full-system diagnostics, bidirectional control, resets, and coding vary by make, model, and year, and newer vehicles may require CAN FD, DoIP, or FCA AutoAuth support. Confirm your VIN with LAUNCH before purchasing if a specific function is essential.
Which Launch scan tools support J2534 pass-thru programming?
The X431 PRO3 V+ Elite (via SmartLink C V2.0), the X431 PRO5, and the X431 PRO3S+ Smartlink HD list J2534 support. In all cases you supply a PC running the automaker’s own programming software, which is purchased separately from the vehicle manufacturer.
What is the difference between the Creader/CRP and X431 lines?
Based on the listings, the Creader and CRP names cover compact, affordable handhelds focused on codes, live data, and a fixed set of resets, while the X431 line consists of Android tablets with all-system scanning, bidirectional active tests, ECU coding, topology mapping, and, on flagships, J2534 pass-thru capability.
Do Launch scan tools require paid updates?
The CR529 and CRP123X list lifetime free updates. The X431 tablets list two years of included updates. Costs beyond that period are not stated in the manufacturer listings, so check current terms before buying if long-term coverage matters to you.
Can one LAUNCH tool cover both cars and heavy-duty trucks?
The X431 PRO3S+ Smartlink HD is listed for both 12V and 24V vehicles in one package. The X431 PRO3 V+ Elite can be configured with heavy-duty modules, but the listing states HD software must be purchased separately by vehicle model.
Final Verdict
The right Launch scan tool depends on how deep you diagnose. If you just want to stop guessing at a check-engine light, the CR529 at $43 does that job cleanly. Add ABS, airbag, and transmission coverage with the CRP123X, or go GM-specific with the X500 for full-system access on a budget. Working on a mixed modern fleet with bidirectional tests and coding? The CRP919EBT is the strongest value, and the CRP919XBT adds wireless freedom for about fifty dollars more. Shops that flash or code modules should step up to the PRO3 V+ Elite, buyers who want maximum speed and remote diagnostics should look at the PRO5, and anyone servicing 24V commercial equipment needs the PRO3S+ Smartlink HD. Whichever tier fits, prices move frequently and coverage varies by VIN, verify both before you order.
