A charger that can handle both Li-ion and NiCd cells saves bench space, but the two chemistries do not use the same voltage or charge profile. The best battery charger for li ion nicd batteries is the one whose manufacturer-listed chemistry support, slot size, and current options match the cells you actually own.
This guide compares eight chargers sold for Li-ion, NiCd, Ni-MH, or a mix of those types. Prices in the supplied listings run from $9.99 to $29.99. CarTechTalk may earn a commission if you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you.
Quick Verdict
Use this snapshot to match a charger to a job, then read the notes before you buy. No model is treated as a single overall winner.
- Imren 4-bay USB-C: Mixed 3.7V cylindrical Li-ion sizes plus 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-Cd, with a listed 0.5A / 1A / 2A current switch.
- EBL charger with discharge: Ni-MH/Ni-Cd AA, AAA, C, D, and 9V cells when you want a listed discharge cycle. It does not list 3.7V Li-ion support.
- TRAELY USB charger: Lowest listed price for 3.7V/3.6V Li-ion plus Ni-MH/Ni-Cd AA, AAA, and C cells.
- EBL 8-slot Type-C: Up to eight AA/AAA Ni-MH, Ni-Cd, or 1.5V lithium cells. It is not listed for 18650-class Li-ion.
- Nitecore UMS4: Four USB-C slots with an LCD and a listed organizer, plus Li-ion, IMR, LiFePO4, Ni-MH, and Ni-Cd support.
- WANGDAJIEDIAN 4-bay LCD: Independent slots that the manufacturer says identify Li-ion and Ni-MH/Ni-Cd and show per-slot data.
- EBL compact 4-slot: Small Type-C charger for 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-Cd or 1.5V AA/AAA cells only.
- Keenstone LCD universal: Listed Li-ion, LiFePO4, IMR, and Ni-MH/Ni-Cd support with 500mA or 1000mA charge options.
Pros
- Four charging bays support flexible battery quantities
- Single-battery charging can be used without charging batteries in pairs
- Broad compatibility across listed Li-ion, Ni-MH, and Ni-Cd battery sizes
- Selectable charging current up to 2A
Cons
- Only rechargeable batteries are supported; non-rechargeable batteries should not be charged
- The listing does not provide detailed charging specifications for each battery type
- A USB power source is required, and the included cable is the only power accessory listed
The IMREN 4-bay USB-C battery charger is listed for 3.7V Li-ion and 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-Cd rechargeable batteries. Supported sizes listed in the source data include 10440, 14500, 14650, 16340, 17335, 17500, 18500, 18350, 18650, 18700, 20700, 21700, 22650, 25500, and 26650, with a slot length of 75 mm for batteries shorter than 75 mm.
The charger supports single-battery charging and can automatically identify Li-ion and Ni-MH batteries. Charging modes of 0.5A, 1A, and 2A are selectable using the middle button. The package is listed as including the charger, a Type-C cable, and a user manual. Do not charge non-rechargeable batteries.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Charges up to four batteries
- Supports single-battery charging without requiring batteries to be charged in pairs
- Compatible with listed 3.7V Li-ion and 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-Cd batteries
- Supports battery sizes under 75 mm, including listed 18650, 20700, 21700, and 26650 cells
- Offers selectable 0.5A, 1A, and 2A charging modes
- Uses USB-C power and can connect to listed USB output sources
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Four charging bays support flexible battery quantities
- Single-battery charging can be used without charging batteries in pairs
- Broad compatibility across listed Li-ion, Ni-MH, and Ni-Cd battery sizes
Consider another option if
- Only rechargeable batteries are supported; non-rechargeable batteries should not be charged
- The listing does not provide detailed charging specifications for each battery type
- A USB power source is required, and the included cable is the only power accessory listed
EBL Universal Smart Battery Charger with Discharge Function, LCD, Multi-Bay Ni-MH/Ni-Cd Charger
Pros
- Supports multiple rechargeable battery sizes in one charger
- Independent charging slots allow mixed-size battery combinations
- Includes a discharge function for Ni-MH and Ni-Cd batteries
- Provides LCD status information and automatic safety shutoff features
Cons
- Compatibility is specified for Ni-MH and Ni-Cd batteries; other rechargeable chemistries are not listed
- Charging times are listed as up to 3 hours for AA/AAA and up to 10 hours for C/D/9V batteries
- Battery polarity must be aligned with the charger markings for proper operation
The EBL Universal Smart Battery Charger is designed for rechargeable Ni-MH and Ni-Cd batteries. It supports 1-4 AA, AAA, C, or D batteries and 1-2 9V batteries, with independent slots for charging mixed sizes and types.
The charger includes a blue-button discharge mode for 1-4 Ni-MH/Ni-Cd batteries. The LCD displays DISCHG during discharge, and the charger returns to charging mode after discharge is complete. The stated total output is 2A when charging 2-4 AA, AAA, C, or D batteries. Listed full-charge times are up to 3 hours for AA/AAA batteries and up to 10 hours for C/D/9V batteries.
Safety features include automatic charging termination when invalid input voltage, faulty batteries, short circuits, or non-rechargeable cells are detected. Constant-current charging is also specified. Battery polarity must match the charger markings.
Specifications
| Dimensions | 7.88 x 2.32 x 5.52 inches |
|---|---|
| Product Group | Wireless |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Charges 1-4 AA, AAA, C, or D batteries simultaneously
- Charges 1-2 9V Ni-MH or Ni-Cd batteries
- Independent slots support mixed battery sizes and types
- Discharge mode can automatically return to charging after completion
- LCD displays charging and discharge status
- Supports 2A total output for charging 2-4 AA, AAA, C, or D batteries
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Supports multiple rechargeable battery sizes in one charger
- Independent charging slots allow mixed-size battery combinations
- Includes a discharge function for Ni-MH and Ni-Cd batteries
Consider another option if
- Compatibility is specified for Ni-MH and Ni-Cd batteries; other rechargeable chemistries are not listed
- Charging times are listed as up to 3 hours for AA/AAA and up to 10 hours for C/D/9V batteries
- Battery polarity must be aligned with the charger markings for proper operation
TRAELY 18650 Battery Charger for Li-ion, Ni-MH and Ni-Cd AA AAA C Batteries, USB-Powered
Pros
- Supports both lithium-ion and Ni-MH/Ni-Cd rechargeable batteries
- Compatible with several common cylindrical battery sizes
- Includes multiple integrated safety protections
- Lightweight design listed at 100g
Cons
- The source data does not specify charging time or input and output electrical ratings
- The source data confirms a USB cable is included but does not state that a wall power adapter is included
- Operating-system and vehicle-compatibility information is not provided
The TRAELY battery charger is designed for 3.7V/3.6V Li-ion batteries, including 26650, 18650, 21700, 14500, and 16340 (RCR123) sizes. It also supports Ni-MH/Ni-Cd AA, AAA, and C batteries through size-adjustable slots.
The charger uses USB power and includes a cable for connection to power banks, laptops, or car adapters. Listed safety features include over-charge, over-voltage, short-circuit, and over-current protection, along with automatic charging stoppage when a battery is full. The housing is made from fireproof ABS and includes heat-dissipation holes. Weight is listed as 100g.
Specifications
| Color | Black |
|---|---|
| Dimensions | 1.5 x 2.55 x 5.2 inches |
| Product Group | Toy |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Supports 3.7V/3.6V Li-ion 26650, 18650, 21700, 14500, and 16340 (RCR123) batteries
- Charges Ni-MH/Ni-Cd AA, AAA, and C batteries
- Adjustable slots accommodate multiple battery sizes
- Includes over-charge, over-voltage, short-circuit, and over-current protection
- Automatically stops charging when the battery is full
- USB-powered design includes a cable for use with power banks, laptops, or car adapters
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Supports both lithium-ion and Ni-MH/Ni-Cd rechargeable batteries
- Compatible with several common cylindrical battery sizes
- Includes multiple integrated safety protections
Consider another option if
- The source data does not specify charging time or input and output electrical ratings
- The source data confirms a USB cable is included but does not state that a wall power adapter is included
- Operating-system and vehicle-compatibility information is not provided
Pros
- Four-slot charging design
- LCD provides charging and battery information
- Supports multiple battery chemistries and sizes
- Automatic charging-current and voltage selection
- Organizer is included
Cons
- Higher charging output depends on using a compatible 2A or Quick Charge power adapter
- Detailed specifications are not provided in the source data
- Current price and included power-adapter details are not provided
The Nitecore UMS4 is an intelligent USB-C four-slot battery charger compatible with Li-ion, IMR, LiFePO4, Ni-Cd, and Ni-MH batteries. Listed compatible sizes include 16340, 14500, 18650, 21700, 20700, AA, AAA, and more. The charger includes an LCD display for battery health, charging status, and charging mode, and it automatically selects appropriate charging current and voltage. With a 2A USB power adapter, total output can reach 2000mA; with a Quick Charge power adapter, a single slot can reach 3000mA. An organizer is included for travel and everyday carry.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Charges up to four batteries
- Supports a maximum total output of 2000mA with a 2A USB power adapter
- Reaches up to 3000mA in a single slot with a Quick Charge power adapter
- LCD display reports battery health, charging status, and charging mode
- Automatically selects appropriate charging current and voltage
- Supports Li-ion, IMR, LiFePO4, Ni-Cd, and Ni-MH batteries
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Four-slot charging design
- LCD provides charging and battery information
- Supports multiple battery chemistries and sizes
Consider another option if
- Higher charging output depends on using a compatible 2A or Quick Charge power adapter
- Detailed specifications are not provided in the source data
- Current price and included power-adapter details are not provided
Pros
- Four independent charging bays
- Slot-specific LCD monitoring
- Supports multiple listed Li-ion, NiMH, and Ni-Cd battery sizes
- Includes a USB-C cable and user manual
Cons
- The package information lists a USB-C cable but does not specify a power adapter
- The supplied data does not state whether all four bays can charge at 2A simultaneously
- No customer review excerpts or review count details are provided
The WANGDAJIEDIAN 4-bay battery charger is designed for listed 3.7V lithium-ion batteries and 1.2V NiMH/Ni-Cd AA, AAA, and C batteries. Its four bays charge independently, and the LCD display shows voltage, current, charge information, and battery type for each slot. The display brightness can be adjusted by touching the screen switch, and the brightness reduces after 30 seconds of inactivity.
The charger provides up to 2A for lithium-ion batteries and up to 300mA for AA and AAA NiMH/Ni-Cd batteries. Supported battery sizes listed in the source data include 18650, 21700, 21750, 18700, 10440, 14500, 16340, 17335, 17500, 17650, 18350, 18500, 26650, 25500, AA, AAA, and C. Applicable battery length ranges from 29mm to 70mm.
The package includes one four-bay battery charger, one USB-C cable, and one user manual.
Specifications
| Color | Black |
|---|---|
| Size | 4 Slot |
| Dimensions | 3.78 x 1.18 x 4.72 Inches |
| Product Group | BISS |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Four bays charge batteries independently
- LCD displays voltage, current, charge status, and battery type for each slot
- Supports up to 2A charging current for lithium-ion batteries
- Supports up to 300mA charging current for AA and AAA NiMH/Ni-Cd batteries
- Compatible with listed 3.7V Li-ion and 1.2V NiMH/Ni-Cd battery sizes
- USB-C cable is included
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Four independent charging bays
- Slot-specific LCD monitoring
- Supports multiple listed Li-ion, NiMH, and Ni-Cd battery sizes
Consider another option if
- The package information lists a USB-C cable but does not specify a power adapter
- The supplied data does not state whether all four bays can charge at 2A simultaneously
- No customer review excerpts or review count details are provided
Pros
- Broad battery compatibility across several chemistries and sizes
- Four independent bays can monitor each battery separately
- LCD display provides voltage, current, and time information for each slot
- Offers two charge current settings: 500mA and 1000mA
- Lists multiple safety protections, including short circuit and reverse polarity protection
Cons
- Power input type and connector details are not provided
- Charging time specifications are not provided
- Specifications field is not supplied beyond the listed feature summary
The Keenstone universal battery charger is designed for rechargeable Li-ion, LiFePO4, IMR, INR, ICR, Ni-MH, and Ni-Cd batteries. Listed compatible sizes include 25500, 22650, 18650, 18500, 18490, 18350, 16340, RCR123A, 14500, 10440, A, AA, AAA, AAAA, SC, and Ni-Cd variants.
- Charging bays: 4 independent slots
- Display: LCD with slot-specific information
- Displayed data: Voltage (V), current (mA), and time (h)
- Charge current options: 500mA and 1000mA
- Safety features: Overcharge, over-discharge, short circuit, and reverse polarity protection
- Compliance claims: UL, CUL, CE, TUV, GS, PSE, FCC, RoHS, C-TICKCB
Power input details and additional technical specifications were not provided in the supplied product data.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Supports Li-ion, LiFePO4, IMR, INR, ICR, Ni-MH, and Ni-Cd rechargeable batteries
- Compatible with multiple battery sizes including 10440, 14500, 16340, RCR123A, 18350, 18490, 18500, 18650, 22650, 25500, AA, AAA, AAAA, A, and SC
- Four independent charging bays allow separate battery monitoring
- LCD display shows slot-specific information
- Displays battery parameters including voltage, current, and time
- Selectable charge current options of 500mA and 1000mA
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Broad battery compatibility across several chemistries and sizes
- Four independent bays can monitor each battery separately
- LCD display provides voltage, current, and time information for each slot
Consider another option if
- Power input type and connector details are not provided
- Charging time specifications are not provided
- Specifications field is not supplied beyond the listed feature summary
Pros
- Independent slots allow batteries to be charged without pairing or matching
- Supports multiple listed rechargeable battery chemistries and 1.5V lithium batteries
- USB-C input supports home, vehicle, and portable power sources
- Automatic detection of non-rechargeable or damaged batteries is indicated by a flashing red light
Cons
- A USB-C power source is required, but the supplied data does not include a power adapter
- Charging time and charging output specifications are not provided
- The supplied data does not identify compatibility with battery sizes other than AA and AAA
The EBL Smart 8-Slot Charger is designed for AA and AAA batteries and has eight independent charging slots. It can charge 1 to 8 batteries at once, including mixed Ni-MH, Ni-Cd, and 1.5V lithium batteries in any slot. The charger uses USB-C input and can connect to a laptop, power bank, or car charger. LED indicators show charging, full-charge, or detection of a non-rechargeable or damaged battery. Built-in protection covers overcharging, overheating, overcurrent, overvoltage, and short circuits.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Eight independent charging slots support 1 to 8 batteries at once
- Allows mixed AA and AAA batteries in any slot
- Supports Ni-MH, Ni-Cd, and 1.5V lithium batteries
- Uses USB-C input with compatibility for laptops, power banks, and car chargers
- LED indicators show charging, full-charge, and detected non-rechargeable or damaged battery status
- Protection features include overcharge, overheating, overcurrent, overvoltage, and short-circuit protection
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Independent slots allow batteries to be charged without pairing or matching
- Supports multiple listed rechargeable battery chemistries and 1.5V lithium batteries
- USB-C input supports home, vehicle, and portable power sources
Consider another option if
- A USB-C power source is required, but the supplied data does not include a power adapter
- Charging time and charging output specifications are not provided
- The supplied data does not identify compatibility with battery sizes other than AA and AAA
Pros
- Independent charging channels allow 1 to 4 batteries to be charged freely
- Supports both 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-CD and 1.5V rechargeable AA or AAA batteries
- Compact design is listed at 3.66 x 2.48 x 1.18 inches and 65g
- Individual LCD displays show charging status for each slot
Cons
- A power adapter is not specified; the listed input is DC 5V/2A through USB-C
- Battery capacity, charging time, and included accessories are not provided
- The supplied data does not identify a specific model number beyond the ASIN
The EBL Universal Battery Charger is designed for rechargeable AA and AAA batteries. It supports charging 1 to 4 batteries independently, including 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-CD and 1.5V rechargeable batteries.
- Input: DC 5V/2A through Type-C
- Output: 350mA x 4 for 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-CD batteries; 250mA x 4 for 1.5V batteries
- Display: Four individual LCD screens
- Size: 3.66 x 2.48 x 1.18 inches
- Weight: 65g
- Protection features: 0V activation, MCU control, overcharge, over-current, over-voltage, temperature, short-circuit, and soft-start protection
Specifications
| Color | Black |
|---|---|
| Dimensions | 5.58 x 1.18 x 4.04 Inches |
| Product Group | Electronics |
Verify the current product variation before purchase; specifications may change.
Detailed Review
What stands out in the currently available product data:
- Charges 1 to 4 rechargeable AA or AAA batteries independently
- Supports 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-CD and 1.5V rechargeable batteries
- Uses USB-C input with a stated DC 5V/2A input rating
- Provides individual LCD displays for each of the four slots
- Lists 0V activation and MCU control technology
- Includes overcharge, over-current, over-voltage, temperature, short-circuit, and soft-start protection
Best For / Avoid If
Best for buyers prioritizing
- Independent charging channels allow 1 to 4 batteries to be charged freely
- Supports both 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-CD and 1.5V rechargeable AA or AAA batteries
- Compact design is listed at 3.66 x 2.48 x 1.18 inches and 65g
Consider another option if
- A power adapter is not specified; the listed input is DC 5V/2A through USB-C
- Battery capacity, charging time, and included accessories are not provided
- The supplied data does not identify a specific model number beyond the ASIN
How We Chose
This is an editorial comparison of the manufacturer-listed specifications supplied for these eight chargers. CarTechTalk did not laboratory-test, road-test, or personally charge cells in these units for this article. Customer review excerpts were not included in the product data, so buyer comments did not influence the write-up.
We weighed listed chemistry support first, because a li ion nicd battery charger has to name both families or it will not cover the search. We then compared independent slots, USB or USB-C input when listed, display type, selectable current, cell-length notes, and the safety functions each brand names. Price was used only as listed. A missing field is called out as not provided instead of assumed.
Spec Comparison
| Charger | Brand | Listed price | Listed chemistries | Slots | Display |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 18650/21700 USB-C charger | Imren | $19.99 | Li-ion and Ni-MH/Ni-Cd | 4 | Not provided |
| Universal charger with discharge | EBL | $18.99 | Ni-MH/Ni-Cd | AA/AAA/C/D plus 9V | LCD |
| Upgraded 18650 USB charger | TRAELY | $9.99 | Li-ion and Ni-MH/Ni-Cd | Not provided | Not provided |
| UMS4 USB-C charger | Nitecore | Not provided | Li-ion, IMR, LiFePO4, Ni-MH, Ni-Cd | 4 | LCD |
| 4-bay LCD charger | WANGDAJIEDIAN | $19.99 | Li-ion and Ni-MH/Ni-Cd | 4 | LCD |
| LCD universal charger | Keenstone | $29.99 | Li-ion, LiFePO4, IMR, Ni-MH, Ni-Cd | 4 | LCD |
| 8-slot Type-C AA/AAA charger | EBL | $14.99 | Ni-MH, Ni-Cd, 1.5V lithium | 8 | LED |
| Compact 4-slot Type-C charger | EBL | $12.59 | 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-Cd and 1.5V AA/AAA | 4 | LCD |
Recommendations
Imren 4-Bay USB-C: Selectable Current for Mixed Cylindrical Cells
The manufacturer lists this 4-bay USB-C unit for 3.7V Li-ion sizes from 10440 through 26650, including 18650, 20700, and 21700, plus 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-Cd A/AA/AAA/AAAA cells. Slots are listed at 75 mm, and the brand says the charger can identify Li-ion and Ni-MH packs, charge unlike types at the same time, and run any number of cells without pairing. A mode button is listed for 0.5A, 1A, and 2A, with a 2000mA fast-charge option.
Choose it when you keep flashlight or vape-size Li-ion cells next to household NiCd sticks and want a listed current switch. Skip it if you need an LCD voltage readout, C/D/9V bays, or LiFePO4 support; none of those appear in the supplied features. Listed price: $19.99.
EBL Charger With Discharge: NiCd and Ni-MH Refresh, Including C, D, and 9V
This EBL model is listed for 1–4 AA/AAA/C/D cells and 1–2 9V Ni-MH/Ni-Cd batteries, with independent slots for mixed sizes. The manufacturer lists a discharge button, an LCD that shows DISCHG, automatic return to charge, 2A total output, and full-charge times of 3 hours or less for AA/AAA and 10 hours or less for C/D/9V. It also names cutoffs for invalid voltage, faulty cells, short circuits, and non-rechargeable batteries.
It is the right tool when your priority is NiCd/Ni-MH maintenance on larger household cells. Do not buy it as a 3.7V Li-ion charger; 18650-class chemistry is not listed. Listed price: $18.99.
TRAELY USB Charger: Lowest Listed Price for Dual Chemistry
TRAELY lists 3.7V/3.6V Li-ion support for 26650, 18650, 21700, 14500, and 16340/RCR123, plus Ni-MH/Ni-Cd AA, AAA, and C cells in size-adjustable slots. The manufacturer names over-charge, over-voltage, short-circuit, and over-current protection, automatic stop at full charge, a 100g USB-powered body with cable included, and a fireproof ABS shell with heat-dissipation holes.
It fits a tight budget when you only need basic dual-chemistry USB charging. Avoid it if you want a listed bay count, LCD data, or selectable amperage; those details are not provided. Listed price: $9.99.
Nitecore UMS4: Four USB-C Slots With LCD and Organizer
The manufacturer lists the UMS4 for Li-ion, IMR, LiFePO4, Ni-Cd, and Ni-MH cells in common sizes including 18650, 21700, 16340, 14500, AA, and AAA. It names a 2000mA maximum total from a 2A USB adapter, a 3000mA single-slot maximum with a QC adapter, automatic current and voltage selection, an LCD for battery health, charge status, and mode, plus a travel organizer.
Pick it when you want the broadest listed chemistry set and on-screen status in a four-slot USB-C body. Skip it if you need a listed price in this roundup, C/D/9V bays, or a discharge cycle; those are not provided here.
WANGDAJIEDIAN 4-Bay LCD: Per-Slot Voltage and Current Readout
This 4-bay charger is listed for 3.7V Li-ion and 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-Cd cells across many cylindrical sizes, with automatic type identification and independent charging. The manufacturer lists an LCD for voltage, current, charge, and battery type on each slot, a dimmable screen, up to 2A for lithium-ion and up to 300mA for AA/AAA NiMH/NiCd, flame-retardant PC construction, and a 29 mm to 70 mm cell-length range.
It suits users who want to watch each bay while mixing Li-ion and nickel cells. Do not buy it for cells longer than 70 mm, for C/D/9V formats, or for a listed LiFePO4 mode. Listed price: $19.99.
Keenstone LCD Universal: Li-ion, LiFePO4, IMR, and Nickel Cells
Keenstone lists Li-ion, LiFePO4, IMR, INR, and ICR sizes including 18650, 26650, 16340/RCR123A, 14500, and 10440, plus Ni-MH/Ni-Cd A, AA, AAA, AAAA, and SC cells. The manufacturer names UL, cUL, CE, TUV, GS, PSE, FCC, and RoHS marks, an LCD that can show voltage, current, and time per slot via A/B/C/D buttons, 500mA or 1000mA charge options, and protection against overcharge, over-discharge, short circuit, and reverse polarity.
Use it when LiFePO4 or IMR support is required alongside NiCd. Avoid it if you want the lowest price, a listed USB-C input, or a 2A lithium mode; input type and 2A charging are not provided. Listed price: $29.99.
EBL 8-Slot Type-C: High-Count AA/AAA Household Charging
The manufacturer lists eight independent slots for any mix of Ni-MH, Ni-Cd, or 1.5V lithium AA/AAA cells, Type-C input from a laptop, power bank, or car charger, and LED cues: solid green full, solid red charging, flashing red for a non-rechargeable or damaged cell. Overcharge, overheating, overcurrent, overvoltage, and short-circuit protection are named, with automatic stop at full charge.
It is built for a drawer of AA/AAA cells, not for 3.7V 18650 Li-ion packs. Skip it if you need cylindrical Li-ion, C/D, or 9V charging. Listed price: $14.99.
EBL Compact 4-Slot: Small Type-C Charger for AA/AAA Only
This third-generation EBL unit is listed for 1–4 independent channels of 1.2V Ni-MH/Ni-Cd or 1.5V AA/AAA cells. The manufacturer lists DC 5V/2A input, 350mA x 4 for 1.2V cells and 250mA x 4 for 1.5V cells, a 3.66 x 2.48 x 1.18 inch body at 65g, Type-C input, a 4-slot LCD, 0V activation, MCU control, and protections for over-charge, over-current, over-voltage, temperature, short circuit, and soft start.
Take it for travel AA/AAA charging. Do not buy it for 3.7V Li-ion, 21700, or C/D cells; those uses are not listed. Listed price: $12.59.
Compatibility and Buying Advice
Read the chemistry line before the size list. A charger can accept an AA-shaped cell and still refuse, or mishandle, a 3.7V Li-ion 14500 if it is only specified for 1.2V NiCd/Ni-MH or 1.5V lithium AA cells. The EBL discharge, 8-slot, and compact models are household-nickel or 1.5V-lithium chargers. Imren, TRAELY, Nitecore, WANGDAJIEDIAN, and Keenstone are the listings that name 3.7V-class Li-ion and nickel cells together.
Slot length matters as much as diameter. Imren lists a 75 mm slot. WANGDAJIEDIAN lists 29–70 mm. If your protected 21700 or 26650 is longer than the stated window, it will not seat. USB-C input is listed for Imren, Nitecore, and the two Type-C EBL AA/AAA chargers; TRAELY is listed as USB-powered. Keenstone’s input connector is not provided in the supplied data.
How to Choose
- Name both chemistries. If you need Li-ion and NiCd in one brick, keep only listings that say so.
- Match the format. 18650/21700 chargers and AA/AAA chargers are different tools even when both mention lithium.
- Prefer independent slots when you will mix sizes or leave bays empty.
- Decide what you need to see. LCD voltage/current is listed on Nitecore, WANGDAJIEDIAN, Keenstone, the EBL discharge model, and the compact EBL. Imren and TRAELY do not list a data screen.
- Check current options. Imren lists 0.5/1/2A. Keenstone lists 500/1000mA. WANGDAJIEDIAN lists 2A lithium and 300mA nickel. Nitecore lists adapter-dependent maxima. Higher listed current is not proof of safer charging.
- Use listed protections as a floor, not a guarantee. Several brands name over-charge, short-circuit, or reverse-polarity cutoffs. That is catalog language, not a CarTechTalk test result.
FAQ
Can one charger charge Li-ion and NiCd at the same time?
Only if the manufacturer says it can identify both types and run mixed bays. Imren and WANGDAJIEDIAN list automatic identification and independent charging. Do not assume that behavior on a nickel-only AA charger.
Is a 1.5V lithium AA the same as a Li-ion 18650?
No. The EBL 8-slot and compact chargers list 1.5V lithium AA/AAA cells. That is not the same as a 3.7V 18650, 21700, or 26650 Li-ion cell.
Do I need a discharge function?
Only the EBL C/D/9V model lists a discharge cycle. It is aimed at Ni-MH/Ni-Cd upkeep, not at 3.7V Li-ion packs.
Is USB-C required?
No. USB-C is convenient for a laptop or car adapter when it is listed, but chemistry support and slot size matter more than the connector.
Which charger is safest?
This article cannot rank real-world safety. Several listings name over-charge, short-circuit, or reverse-polarity protection. Those claims were not verified here.
Final Verdict
For mixed 3.7V cylindrical Li-ion and NiCd/Ni-MH cells, start with Imren if you want a listed 0.5/1/2A switch, WANGDAJIEDIAN if you want per-slot LCD data, Nitecore if you want LiFePO4/IMR plus an organizer, Keenstone if you want 500/1000mA options and the widest chemistry list, or TRAELY if listed price is the constraint. Use the EBL discharge charger for C/D/9V nickel cells, the 8-slot EBL for a pile of AA/AAA cells, and the compact EBL for travel AA/AAA charging. None of those three EBL units replaces a 18650 Li-ion charger.
